Skip to content

What in the World Wednesdays?

November 2, 2011

Give me a Laffy Taffy … Snickers … Twix … Tootsie Roll … oops, sorry! I’m still digging through my kids’ candy bowls! I hope everyone survived the Halloween tricks and treats. We are two days deep into November already, and I’m kicking off the month with some great finds around the web. Check them all out!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • I must be living under a rock, because I have just found out about the greatest website of all time: CopyKat Recipes. Have a favorite restaurant? Have a favorite dish? You can probably find the recipe on CopyKat.com. You name it—Chili’s, Houston’s, Chipotle, Outback—she’s got awesome recipes that are nearly like if not exactly like your favorite dishes! So guess what the first CopyKat recipe I’m going to share is? Publix Buttercream Icing. Is there anything better? My sincere apologies to all the high-end, swanky, highly-trained bakers at “real” bakeries, but there’s nothing better than Publix grocery store cake. Every time I go to a bakery, I am disappointed. Publix is the best. Anybody else with me? Try the recipe!  
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • I wanted to share a recipe from this website just because I love the name: The Girl Who Ate Everything. I think she and I could become very good friends. All of her recipes look amazing, but I’m still in the mood for pumpkin! So these pumpkin blondies look yummy! (Actually, all of her pumpkin recipes look yummy!)
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • My husband has a great sense of humor … that’s one of the best things about him. Now studies show that joking with toddlers helps develop valuable skills! Our kids should be golden! Check out why Parenting.com says joking can help kids be more creative and able to problem solve. Knock, knock …
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • I have found lots of blogs that I just love. Susan DiMickele’s is one of them! She is the author of “Chasing Superwoman: A Working Mom’s Adventures in Life and Faith” (David C. Cook, 210). Her blogs have just what I need at the moment. They are straight to the point, full of biblical truth, encouraging, honest, and transparent. Her topics this week have been: a comparison of prayer to boot camp; confessions of a Bible study dropout; and practical tips for professional Christian women. Every woman, wife, and mom needs to keep up with this blog!
ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • Yesterday was NaNoWriMo. Any idea what that means? I just found out: National Novel Writing Month. Being a non-fiction writer, I had no idea! But it sounds fun! If you are interested in writing the next bestseller, check out these 30 tips
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • Crosswalk.com is a resource I use a lot—almost every day—as I edit and write. This week I saw this post: “25 Books Every Christian Should Read.” I’ve got to admit that there weren’t many (okay, maybe two) that I’ve already read. My nightstand is full of half-finished books and books waiting to be read. I guess I’ll add a few more from these recommendations!
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • No matter what kind of parent you are or what kinds of kids you have, there is probably one thing everybody has in common: reading bedtime stories. If you are a mom or dad with kids, most likely you are reading a bedtime story almost every night. This post has tips for making the most out of bedtime reading. Try them—the kids will love it!
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • As I’m fairly new to the Social Media realm of blogging and Twitter, I’m always looking for tips on using SM, marketing, etc. The Social Media Examiner has great marketing tips for Twitter users. Check it out here. (And follow me on Twitter @ChristiMcGuire!)
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • Typically, I would never recommend reading a eulogy. And I’m not obsessed with Steve Jobs, even though I also mentioned him in last week’s post. However, this really is a moving piece written by Jobs’ sister. It’s the first time I read something in the NY Times that made me tear up. Definitely worth the read … check it out here.
ANY CHARACTER HERE

What great finds did you discover this week?

ANY CHARACTER HERE
14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 10:14 am

    100% behind you on the Publix icing. Thanx a million for the recipe tip. I only hope that I can remake it (without adding 5 inches to each thigh!)

    http://www.pierotucci.wordpress.com

  2. Erin permalink
    November 2, 2011 2:19 pm

    I love these WWW posts… keep them coming :).

    • November 2, 2011 3:30 pm

      Great! I’m so glad you do! I enjoy finding all this great stuff and sharing my favorites! :)

  3. Ashley Kerth permalink
    November 2, 2011 4:05 pm

    I love these posts, Christi! I read Steve Job’ eulogy… oh my goodness, I have tears in my eyes. How beautiful!

  4. November 2, 2011 4:50 pm

    My mom has a love obsession with the chocolate ganache cake at Publix haha! ;) And I love their big, fat sugar cookies. Yum!!

  5. November 2, 2011 9:40 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout out! I’m so thrilled to connect in writing and in faith (and motherhood).

    • November 3, 2011 2:12 pm

      Thanks for your words! Everything I read, I needed to hear. A divine appointment! :) Please keep writing!

  6. November 29, 2011 9:44 pm

    Keep writing as God leads and inspires! :D

Trackbacks

  1. Whatcha Reading Weekend: Round 6 | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed
  2. What in the World Wednesdays? « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 671 other followers

