Skip to content

Who Doesn’t Love a Good Bribe?

June 29, 2011

I’m ALL about bribing. Before I had kids, I used to roll my eyes, shake my head, and even tsk, tsk when I overheard a mother bribe her kid at the store. Bribing. Can you imagine the horror?

Then . . . I had kids of my own.

And I pretty much ate EVERY single word I ever muttered under my breath about other mothers and their bratty, uncivilized, undisciplined kids. (My kids were going to be perfect, you know.)

So now, I do what every other mother does. I bribe. And let me tell you, my 3-year-old can be bribed very easily with candy or chocolate or ice cream. (Of course! She’s my daughter, after all!)

Mia bribed with ice cream!

 

So whether it’s gummies or chocolate milk or (gasp) a cookie . . . you’ll hear me give the occasional, “If you do this, you’ll get that!”

And guess what? Now I’m going to bribe you—with food, too!

But instead of calling it a “bribe,” let’s call it my first-ever blog contest. Doesn’t that sound professional?

So if you want to win the bri . . . er, I mean contest, sign up to receive email subscriptions with my blog! Out of all the MILLIONS of people that I’m sure will sign up, I will draw 3 names (out of the proverbial hat, of course) to receive a $15 Starbucks gift card! Yes, $15! Can you believe it? Don’t worry . . . I’ve been watering that money tree out back.

This could be yours!

This could be yours! Subscribe TODAY!

Sign up TODAY! You don’t want to miss out on that frappaccino, or mocha latte, or pumpkin loaf. The winner will be announced within ONE week! Good luck, ladies and gentlemen!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Gomez permalink
    June 29, 2011 4:23 pm

    I recently bribed Selena and I don’t feel bad about it at all!!! I told her that I would give her $20 if I didn’t have to go to her band concert! I had a very good reason……I wanted to see Mason pitch a very important game!!

  2. June 29, 2011 4:43 pm

    I’m guessing that I can’t win since I’m related, but nonetheless, I subscribed! I thought that I already had, but I guess not?! And I love that picture of Mia… can’t wait to see her and the rest of the fam again soon! 🙂

    • June 29, 2011 5:30 pm

      Hadn’t thought about that, but guess you’re right!! My witty words will have to be your reward!! LOL 🙂

  3. June 29, 2011 4:53 pm

    This whole post cracks me up!! Isn’t funny how we end up eating so many of our words once we become parents?? 🙂 Do I get a chance to win … even if I had already subscribed before this post? No pressure, but I do love a good frappaccino!

    • June 29, 2011 5:29 pm

      Of course you get a chance to win!! You deserve a million frappaccinos for all the awesome work YOU do!! 🙂

  4. Elaine Farmer permalink
    June 29, 2011 5:55 pm

    Christi, I love your blog and I will subscribe! Bribe or not, skinny vanilla lattes are yummy! Oh and as for bribing your children…they still turn out ok. Mine are 22 and 19 and both and good guys 🙂

    • June 29, 2011 8:48 pm

      Thanks, Elaine!! You have AWESOME boys (I mean “men”) so I’ll take your advice! 🙂

  5. Cheri McGuire permalink
    June 30, 2011 9:29 pm

    Hi Dear….I am really enjoying your blog…..This is the best way yet to feel like I’ve spent some time with you and get to hear about your days as wife & mother along with your great sense of humor…..just keep on writin’….this is fun 🙂

  6. Marilyn Cruz permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:48 pm

    Last month I told my daughter Gabby that if she walked the dog every day I will buy her a $25 gift card from her favorite store which is Justice. It worked wonderfully. She walked the dog every day without me asking and even fixed her bed every day and did a few extra things!! The problem was once she got the gift card she stoped doing everything. I guess I need to come up with something better :-/

    • July 5, 2011 9:56 pm

      Wow! You start at a high dollar value! I’m bribing my kids with $1 and candy!! Don’t tell my kids, or they’ll want to come live with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

