Skip to content

Be Still and Know that I am God

July 1, 2011

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

Psalm 46:10 is quickly becoming one of my favorite verses. Over the last 1-1/2 years, I have been focusing on this verse. Be still . . . be still . . . be still. They’re not magical words, but I’m hoping after repeating this verse multiple times every day that my mind and heart will truly understand what God intends for us . . . to be still and know that HE is God (and we aren’t)!

Why do we as women think we are in control and can “fix” everything? Why do we as moms think we have to have it all together and have the perfect home, children, marriage, and career? Why do we as wives refuse to let anyone else in because they might just realize we are not quite as good as Mrs. So-and-So? Why do we try to be SUPER everything—super mom, wife, woman, etc?

Why can’t we just . . . be still?

When you search the Bible for words such as be still, quiet, rest, many verses will pop up. Why is God so concerned about being still, being quiet, and resting? Because it should all happen IN HIM. That’s all we need in life—HIM. God doesn’t want us rushing from here to there, too busy to know Him, worship Him, trust Him, or communicate with Him. He wants us to rest IN HIM. When we are actually quiet enough to hear His voice, all else fades away. The laundry, dishes, to-do lists, and carpool schedules are no longer important. Perhaps necessary, but not the focus of our source of life—HIM.

So today or tomorrow or next week when life gets hairy, complicated, rushed, over-scheduled, exhausting, chaotic, and just downright stressful, physically stop yourself for a brief moment and say Psalm 46:10, either aloud or to yourself. You may have to repeat it over and over and over again before your heartbeat slows down, your mind stops racing, and you can take a deep breath to worship the Savior. Creator of the universe. Father of all creation. Messiah, Counselor, Prince of Peace, King of kings, Lord of lords.

In Him, be still.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie Leitzman permalink
    July 1, 2011 11:13 am

    Great words…!

  2. Ashley Kerth permalink
    July 1, 2011 12:58 pm

    I needed this today. I am not sure how you knew this, but I am thankful for your words this morning. Love you, my friend.

    • July 1, 2011 1:19 pm

      It’s amazing how God works, because I wrote this back in March, and then I scheduled it to post earlier this week for today. So God’s timing is perfect! Glad you liked it! 🙂

  3. Kim Wickham permalink
    July 1, 2011 10:11 am

    I’m with Ashley on this one…I definitely needed this today. There is way too much going on in my life right now. I really need to slow down and just let things be. Thank you for your words!

    • July 1, 2011 1:20 pm

      Kim, I’m figuring out that no matter what age we are, what stage in life we are in, what we are doing, etc., we are ALL way too busy!! Just repeating Psalm 46:10 helps me calm down a little, even though I still have a long to-do list. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The 12-Step Plan « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

