Skip to content

Rockin’ Out to CHER

July 13, 2011

Who doesn’t love Cher? Well, maybe not her fashion sense. Definitely not her parenting style. Or her choice in men. OK, the only redeeming quality is her amazing VOICE. Can she ever belt it out! At 60-something, she’s still got it!

Why am I bringing up Cher? Random, yes. But when I have a bad day, Cher is by my side. When I’m feeling yucky, moody, depressed, pitiful, and just plain sorry for myself, I turn up the volume and belt it out. (I’m sure I would have been a back-up singer for Cher; if only our paths had crossed!) I fell in love with Cher’s solo song on the 2010 movie “Burlesque.” When I need to know I can carry on, I crank it up. I put it on repeat and sing and dance until my family can’t take it anymore!

The lyrics are an anthem to all women to fight the fight, run the race, and carry on. (Sounds a little like Hebrews 12:1.) It’s Cher kickin’ up your confidence level in a short 3 minutes and 30 seconds. (Not to mention it’s the amazing Dianne Warren with another heart-felt ballad.) Find it on iTunes and let me hear you sing!

“You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me”

Feeling broken
Barely holding on
But there’s just something so strong
Somewhere inside me
And I am down but I’ll get up again
Don’t count me out just yet

I’ve been brought down to my knees
And I’ve been pushed way past the point of breaking
But I can take it
I’ll be back
Back on my feet
This is far from over
You haven’t seen the last of me
You haven’t seen the last of me

They can say that
I won’t stay around
But I’m gonna stand my ground
You’re not gonna stop me
You don’t know me
You don’t know who I am
Don’t count me out so fast

I’ve been brought down to my knees
And I’ve been pushed way past the point of breaking
But I can take it
I’ll be back
Back on my feet
This is far from over
You haven’t seen the last of me

 

(Words & Music by Dianne Warren. Listen to it or buy it on amazon.com by clicking HERE.)

Doesn’t that make you feel like you can conquer the world? I love songs lyrics; even secular songs can speak to me in a spiritual way.  This songs reminds me of Hebrews 12:11:“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us” (NIV).

I’ll be sharing lots of songs that get me through life and that God has used to teach me, encourage me, and show me that all things were created by Him and for Him.

So let’s share . . . what song lyrics or Bible verses speak to you when you are having a rough day?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 8:52 am

    Phil 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

    I know it’s nothing original, but it’s the one I always go to. Simple, strong, and to the point. I don’t have to do anything in my own strength. I just need to rely on Him. 🙂

  2. July 13, 2011 9:06 am

    notsodomesticated, I love Phil 4:13, too!

    One of my favorite songs when I’m going through a tough time is “It’s Going to Be All Right” by Sara Groves. http://www.lyricstime.com/sara-groves-it-s-going-to-be-alright-lyrics.html

  3. Ashley permalink
    July 13, 2011 2:45 pm

    I love this post, Christi. Music and lyrics can really change my way of thinking or take me to a place that calms me. I was very close to my grandmother (the one that Dovie is named after) when I was growing up. She helped to take care of me when my dad passed away, and was always such a strong Christian influence. She was a friend. When I was 17, she passed away from lung cancer. I have missed her every day since. Whenever I need to have a quiet moment to think of her, I listen to Miranda Lambert’s song “The House That Built Me.” Her home was a safe haven for me, a loving and fun place to just be a child. Whenever I would come home to Tennessee, I would always drive past her house and imagine myself playing in the yard, and her on the front porch drinking sweet ice tea and laughing at me. One day, I decided to stop. I went up to the house and asked the nice lady that answered the door if I could come inside. She didn’t know me or my intentions at all, but she let me come in and walk around. I could almost feel my grandmother, smell her perfume, and hear her tell me to let go. It wasn’t her home anymore. That song makes me cry every time I hear it, and I am thankful for it. It makes me stronger. 🙂

  4. Ashley Kerth permalink
    July 13, 2011 7:25 pm

    Oh, and my Don’t-Count-Me-Out-Yet-Strong-Song is “Survivor” by Destiny’s Child.

    I’m a survivor
    I’m not gonna give up
    I’m not gonna stop
    I’m gonna work harder
    I’m a survivor
    I’m gonna make it
    I’m will survive
    Keep on surviving

    The rest of the lyrics are great, too. If I ever need a little extra nudging, this song will do it every time. 😀

  5. July 15, 2011 5:28 pm

    Love this post! 🙂 One of my go-to songs is “Change in the Making” by Addison Road:
    http://www.burbler.com/addison-road-change-in-the-making-lyrics.html

  6. July 20, 2011 5:38 pm

    Psalm 18:2 The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. If I’ve made of mess of that rough day, I love this verse….”He give beauty of ashes”:)I believe it’s in Isaiah.

Leave a Reply

