Skip to content

No More Settlin’

July 22, 2011

I’ve been in the good ‘ole Midwest this week … back home to cornfields, fireflies, vegetables to can from the garden, homemade ice cream from the local stand, running through grass barefoot, and neighborhood kids riding bikes way after dark. All my childhood memories have returned. It’s good to be home!

Although I absolutely love living in Florida (and don’t plan on moving any time soon), I love being back in Ohio where life is just a tad slower and it feels like “good old times.” For a few weeks, I can escape the hustle and bustle of daily life and relax—not to mention there are two Grandmas to help with my full-of-energy kiddos!

In Ohio there’s not much choice of radio stations (or restaurants or shopping malls or coffee shops or … sorry, I digress). Country music is abundant, and you better like it, ‘cause that’s almost all there is! But I don’t mind. I grew up listening to country, oldies, gospel hymns, and the good tunes of the 70s and 80s. I love anything from AC/DC to Journey to Lionel Ritchie to Elvis to Andrae Crouch.

And, yes, I love country. There’s no escaping it—you can take the girl out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the girl. I even lived in Nashville for a long time, surrounded by country music, country fans, and country everything.

So one of my most favorite all-time country bands is Sugarland. I’ve seen them twice in concert this year. Love them! And so do my girls. They know the lyrics to every song from the last two CDs and which number on the CD each song is. They’ll shout from the backseat, “Play ‘Stuck Like Glue.’ It’s number three!”

One of Sugarland’s older songs, “Settlin’ ” has become my life anthem. Here are the words of the chorus:

I ain’t settling for just getting by

I’ve had enough so-so for the rest of my life

Tired of shooting too low, so raise the bar high

Just enough ain’t enough this time

I ain’t settling for anything less than everything.

That’s my heart’s desire—to not settle for less, for average, for just getting by. Why? Because God also desires that we don’t settle. John 10:10 says “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full” (NIV). I love the American Standard Version: “I came that they may have life, and may have it abundantly.” Abundantly! Don’t you want abundant life? God doesn’t want you to live an average, mediocre, frustrated, lonely, frazzled life. He has created you for more. He has created you to have new life in Him. Life in Him that is abundant and full!

So stop settling. Stop just getting by. Stop shooting too low. Stop settling for anything less than everything. Live for everything that God has for you—an abundant life!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 12:29 pm

    Love this post! Glad you’re having fun. In Ohio’s defense, for those who’ve never been here, I just have to say that what you’re saying about only having country on the radio, etc., is truer of rural and small town Ohio but doesn’t represent the more urban areas like Columbus, Cincinnati, Cleveland, etc. I just don’t want your readers to think the whole state is like that! 🙂 Love what you wrote about the abundant life. I don’t know that song, but I will check it out!

    • July 22, 2011 12:32 pm

      Elise, you are absolutely right! I should clarify that I am in Lima, not a big city. Columbus, Cincinnati, Cleveland, etc. all have great radio stations, shopping malls, coffee shops (Starbucks!!), etc. etc! 🙂

  2. July 22, 2011 12:35 pm

    I love this post! I wholeheartedly join my heart to yours in sayin that I ain’t settlin either!! YeeHaww! I want to run barefoot in the fields catching fireflies too! Absorbing that abundant freedom that He sacrificed everything to give me. Love that you had this time to soak and inhale and taste the joys of your childhood! Good for the soul!

    • July 22, 2011 4:43 pm

      Erin, I would say that you are definitely living an abundant life!! You are using all the talents God has given you, and you are an inspiration to a lot of people, including me! 😉

  3. Ashley Kerth permalink
    July 22, 2011 12:44 pm

    Love this post, but I have to mention that you forgot Bob Marley on your list of artists. 🙂

  4. July 22, 2011 1:39 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this!

  5. July 22, 2011 4:00 pm

    I’m not ready to admit to loving country music, but I do love this post! It was exactly what I needed to read today. Thanks, Christi! 🙂

    • July 22, 2011 4:47 pm

      Ha! Sarah, you made me laugh out loud! I agree, it’s kinda hard to admit. But Sugarland is a little more pop and rock at times than country, so they’re awesome. Maybe next time I’ll talk about Dolly Parton or Hank Williams or something more country! 😉

  6. July 25, 2011 7:29 am

    Great post! And you definitely aren’t shooting low. You are accomplishing some truly amazing goals! You go girl (cheesy, but appropriate!)! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Fun Fact: Pork Rinds « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

