Skip to content

Kristy’s Kitchen

July 25, 2011
I must admit … I’ve got a lot of great friends! This summer has been wonderful in the fact that I’ve been able to spend a lot of time with friends who I don’t normally get to spend time with—including a long-distance friend I’ve been friends with since kindergarten! So when I count my blessings, I am always thankful for my fabulous friends that God has blessed me with!
 
Today, I want to feature a very special friend and guest blogger, Kristy Williams. She might be one of my favorites—because she always fixes me homemade food!! Homemade breads, soups, desserts … you name it, she’s cooked it, baked it, canned it, kneaded it, frozen it, or experimented with it! I’m 100% sure that if her husband ever moved out, I would be moving in! I tell Gary all the time what a lucky, lucky man he is to have such an amazing wife!
 
Kristy is not only an awesome chef, but she’s one of the most godly women, wives, and moms that I know. I am constantly learning from her example. (See, I don’t only like her for her food!) I was honored to have met her when she first came as Children’s Minister at Sarasota Baptist Church several years ago. And most importantly, I was one of the first to experience the sparks fly as she met and fell in love with her husband, Gary. The Williams family hold a special place in my heart, and I wanted to share her with the world (but I’m keeping her homemade goodies all to myself!).
 
So without further adieu … here’s Kristy! 
 
  

Kristy and her boys, Jameson (2) and Christian (3)

“Would you be a guest blogger?” Christi asked me … GULP!  I started thinking about what I would share.  I don’t know anything about creating curriculum.  I don’t have a clue about writing fabulous magazine articles.  And I definitely do not have a love affair with any type of punctuation mark! 

 
But as Christi and I were standing in my kitchen, stirring my made-from-scratch tomato soup, snacking on a still slightly warm loaf of homemade French bread, discussing how I made Jello without using a box, Christi said, “That’s it! That’s what you can write about … FOOD!” Well, I guess that sums up my world since I’ve become a stay-at-home mom to my 2- and 3-year-old boys. I love to cook for them, and I love to create all sorts of new things in the kitchen. My thought is,why buy it if I can make it myself?
 
So in my quest to ‘figure out food,’ I’ve had a chance to experiment with some fun things! I’ve made homemade yogurt and crock pot apple butter. I’ve tried my hand at making my own almond milk (for no reason other than ‘why not?!?’) and pudding. I actually used the almond milk to make the pudding—but don’t tell my husband, or he won’t eat it ever again! I’ve experimented with swapping out eggs with a flax seed mixture in recipes, and I’ve tried substituting chopped up mushrooms for ground beef (this fooled my husband for many meals!  But when he announced randomly that he didn’t like mushrooms, I had to tell him he’s been eating them in his tacos and pasta sauce for the past week!). 
 
Bottom line, I just love food.  Not just eating it, but loving my family through the fixing of it. I love seeing my husband enjoy a meal I created especially for him (minus the almond milk and mushrooms).  I have so much joy in my heart when I see my boys with their little aprons on helping me make homemade tortillas in the kitchen. Food is an experience for us, not always a positive one (quinoa pancakes…yuck), but it’s an event for us to enjoy each other through. 
 
With that being said, I think my next ‘event’ will be homemade Pop Tarts. “Go get your aprons, boys! Mommy’s baking again!”
 
Share with us … what kind of food experiments have you tried in the kitchen that worked or, well, didn’t work so well?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 9:25 am

    If you go to my blog, you’ll see one post called “Confessions of a klutsy newlywed.” That sums up my bad experiences in the kitchen fairly well. 😉

    Love the post, Kristy and Christi!! 🙂

  2. Marilyn Cruz permalink
    July 25, 2011 9:53 am

    Love the post!!! Next time please share one of your recipes!! 🙂

  3. Kristy Williams permalink
    July 25, 2011 1:37 pm

    Thank you, Ladies!!! 😉

  4. July 25, 2011 6:51 pm

    Ah, this makes me smile! You have always had a way of making me laugh and want to try something new. I love that you have shared some of your ideas. Let me know how the pop tarts go! I want to make granola- have you done that?
    Love you, Kristy (and nice to “meet” you, Christi!)

  5. Kristy Williams permalink
    July 26, 2011 12:49 pm

    Thank you, Becky!!! I’ll let you know about the poptarts. Today our ‘adventure’ was Kale Chips. They were so good! My 2 year old and 3 year old and I ate an entire bunch of it in one sitting! I haven’t made granola yet, but am always on the lookout for a good recipe for it. But I honestly haven’t found one that yelled “MAKE ME”! So my quest still continues…

Trackbacks

  1. Fun Fact: Pork Rinds « Witty Words
  2. Cookin’ with Kristy! « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

