Skip to content

Fun Fact: Pork Rinds

August 1, 2011
tags:

Previously, I mentioned that I am in the good ‘ole Midwest. Yep, right in Lima, Ohio. And you know what Lima (pronounced with a long “I” vowel sound, not like Lima, Peru) is specifically known for?

PORK RINDS!

No, I am not kidding. Lima, Ohio, is the “Pork Rind Capital of the World.”

So to provide a “Fun Fact,” I had to investigate all things pork rind. (I love my job!)

Pork rinds are the fried or roasted skin of a pig. (pig = pork / skin = rind)

The pork skins are deep-fried into light, crunchy puffs that can be flavored with different seasonings. Although pork rinds have no carbs in them, they are high in fat and sodium (five times as much sodium as potato chips) but are still a favorite snack of many people, including H.W. Bush.

Rudolph Foods is the world’s largest manufacturer of pork rinds, and their headquarters are—you guess it—in Lima, Ohio. Rudolph Foods even rallied for a National Pork Rind Appreciation Day on February 6, 2011. They said the campaign “has been created in an effort to help Rudolph Foods consumers celebrate pork rinds as a quirky and nostalgic snack that encourages family togetherness and tradition.”

I think chocolate does a better job at helping me celebrate togetherness and tradition, don’t you?

In case you were wondering, you can figure out how your intelligence measures up in the pork rind world by playing “Are You Smarter Than a Pork Rind?” at the Rudolph website. While you’re there, check out the recipe for meatloaf, bread, enchiladas, and green bean casserole by using pork rinds! (I have a feeling my friend Kristy Williams will experiment with this!)

So there you have it … everything you wanted (or did not want) to know about pork rinds! However, I’m still not a fan. Someone please pass me the Pringles.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie Leitzman permalink
    August 1, 2011 9:35 am

    Whew, I was glad to see at the end that you are still a potato chip girl!

  2. Ashley Kerth permalink
    August 1, 2011 9:45 am

    Girl, you know I am from the south…and we love ourselves some pork rinds! 🙂

    • August 1, 2011 9:51 am

      Do you really?? Well, no wonder we are friends since I am from the “Pork Rind Capital of the World”!!!

  3. August 1, 2011 9:49 am

    Hahaha hilarious! When I did that ridiculous low-carb diet in college (moment of pure insanity), I ate pork rinds. But I haven’t had them since. Give me salt and vinegar chips or Doritos any day of the week!! 😉

  4. Kristy Williams permalink
    August 1, 2011 10:44 am

    Very funny!!!!!! Sorry, my friend … no pork rind creations coming out of MY kitchen!!!! Although for a brief moment I did think, “Hmmm … I wonder how hard it would be to make a pork rind”. But then I thought of touching the skin of a pig, heating oil and the basic fact that I don’t like pork rinds!!! But I guess there is always a first time for everything! FYI … I have a loaf of whole wheat bread rising as we speak! Wish you were here to help me eat it!

    • August 1, 2011 12:01 pm

      I knew you’d have a brief moment of insanity, er, I mean interest in pork rinds! 🙂

  5. August 11, 2011 10:14 pm

    Christi, I am one of the Chaplains @ RUDOLPH FOODS…they not only care about their PORK RINDS…they care spiritually about every employee ! Seriously ! It is an amazing, amazing place ! smile…how funny you posted this !

Trackbacks

  1. Fun Fact: Lavender « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

