Skip to content

Taking in the Moment

August 15, 2011

I’m on the countdown. T minus 1 week. 7 days. 168 hours. 10,080 minutes. Next Monday morning, August 22, 2011, my baby goes to kindergarten.

That sentence just killed me to write.

Mary-Allison, 2 months old

How can my precious Mary-Allison be old enough to go to kindergarten? Where did the last 5-1/2 years go? I blinked, and they flew by.

As I pushed my newborn baby in the shopping cart at the grocery store, older moms would stop me and say, “Treasure this time; it goes by so fast!” Now I know they were right.

But, thank You, God, that I did all I could to treasure the moments. I can embrace this new stage in life with little regrets about how I spent the last 5 years. I poured myself into being a mom who is present in the moment. Don’t get me wrong … there were moments of insanity, craziness, chaos, yelling, and losing my temper. I’m not claiming to be completely patient and perfect! But the memories I have are of cuddling, holding, playing, and enjoying the gifts God blessed me with. Hopefully, both of my daughters’ remember the good times, as well.

5-1/2 years old

In honor of all moms everywhere who are transitioning into a new school year, a new stage of life, and a new chapter of parenting, I want to present a post from the blog, “Hands Free Mama.” Rachel’s mission is to make memories, not more to-do lists. Her writing is beautiful, encouraging, challenging … and I cry every time I read a post. God has blessed her with words like poetry that penetrate to the heart about what truly matters. Her post, “Do You Have a Moment?” is a prime example of slowing down to take in the moment with our children. I hope you find Rachel’s words as inspiring as I did!

Click to read “DO YOU HAVE A MOMENT?” by WWW.HANDSFREEMAMA.COM.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 9:23 am

    As a mom who just sent her “baby” off to kindergarten this morning, these words really hit home. What a beautiful tribute, Christi! And what an honor to have such glowing words about my writing! I am truly thankful God has crossed our paths.

  2. Teresa Moeller permalink
    August 15, 2011 10:29 am

    I hope you remember also what kind of mother I tried to be. I cherished and loved being a mother. You girls were the joy of my life in spite of going through some of the hardest days of my life! It truly pays huge dividends to be a mother at home raising her children. I am so very thankful I was able to do that for the most part. Love You Christi Noel and I am very proud of you.

  3. August 15, 2011 3:29 pm

    MA is forever stuck in my mind as a 3 year old little cow girl the first Halloween after we met you guys! I can’t believe she is going to school. Praying enjoy this week together!

  4. Nikki permalink
    August 15, 2011 6:46 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this! It touched my heart! Love you girl!

  5. Cheri McGuire permalink
    August 16, 2011 4:11 am

    Christi…. as a mother, you can rest asure that you have prepared her well as she takes another ‘first step’ 🙂 She is going to be a blessing and a joy to her teacher and a good friend and helper to her classmates. Can’t wait to hear about her first days of school, as only she can express..:-)

Leave a Reply

