Skip to content

How Will I Know You?

August 29, 2011

If you were asked the question,
“How will I know you?”
what would your response be?

 

I was recently asked this question; unfortunately, I didn’t like my answer. I was in Ohio to meet a client who I had never met face-to-face. We had seen each other’s websites, but this was our first meeting. She graciously agreed to meet at a coffee shop so I could get my mocha latte fix. While determining our plans via phone, she asked me, “How will I know who you are?” I quickly replied: “I have dark hair and will have a polka dot purse.”

I hung up the phone very excited about meeting this lady with an incredible ministry in Africa. But I soon stopped in my tracks. Her question lingered in my mind: “How will I know you?”My heart dropped as I regrettably remembered my response: you will know me by my hair and my purse.

Really? My hair and my purse? I know this client was not asking a super-spiritual question but merely needed information to identify me.

Is that how I want to be identified? By my vanity (hair) and my materialism (purse)?

Why couldn’t I respond with, “You’ll know me by my radiant love for Jesus Christ!”

Luckily, my answers made me easily identifiable to her in the coffee shop that afternoon. However, I am ashamed of my response to a simple question. What if God asked me how others know I belong to Him? Would others even know I belong to the King of kings and Lord of lords? Do others only see my vanity and materialism, not my radiant love for Christ?

The Bible says, “By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” (John 13:35).  Do others know I am the Lord’s disciple? Do I love others in order to prove it? If someone asks you to describe yourself, what words would you use? Would you identify yourself as a Christ-follower? Or is your first description something selfish, full of vanity and materialism (such as mine was)?

I hope that even though I failed a life test that I learned a life lesson here. Know who I am, as well as whose I am. When you see me, go ahead and ask … “How will I know you?”

How will I know YOU?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 10:39 pm

    after “seeing” the dark hair and poka dot purse….. it is who I saw when I left that made a deep impression in my life, my mind, my heart….she / Christi McGuire is a person who truly, sincerely LOVES JESUS CHRIST more than life. Her compassion oozes…..out of her…her zeal…( as God words it in HIS WORD ) for HIM has not left…as has her first love for Him. I never thought again about the dark hair or poka dotted purse…I have only thought of how on fire you are for the LORD….and the blazing trail you leave behind you ! That is just being HONEST. smile.

Leave a Reply

