Skip to content

Audience of One

September 9, 2011

A close friend has been teaching me a very valuable lesson this year: I have an audience of One. As I talk to my friend about my insecurities and worries and fears about whether I am “good enough” as a wife, mother, and writer, she continually affirms me: “You have an audience of ONE. You must live and work and parent only in obedience to God and to His glory—no one else matters.” It has taken me months to truly take in this truth, and I meditate on it quite often. Everything I do should be done as if it’s for God; I should only care about what God thinks, but I get too concerned about what others think. Colossians 2:23-24 says: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving” (NIV).

Do you live all facets of your life as if you have an audience of One?

  • In marriage. God created my spouse, and only He knows how I can properly love and respect my man. Am I the helpmate God needs me to be?
  • In parenting. My children are not mine; they are God’s children whom He has graciously loaned to me to raise according to His plan and for His glory. Am I being the mother God needs me to be?
  • In work. My work as a writer and editor is always scrutinized by others; I constantly feel the pressure to be “perfect.” But am I working for others’ affirmation or as God’s workmanship, writing the words He needs me to?

As a “recovering perfectionist,” I am always resisting the urge to please others and to gain their acceptance and affirmation. I have to draw back my focus to God. To know that His audience is the only ONE that matters. But honestly, I find myself struggling with this concept. I find myself behaving differently when I am concerned what others think. Do you?

  • Do you parent differently (more kindly) in the grocery store when others are watching?
  • Do you look around the worship center to see who may be watching whether you lift your hands or kneel in prayer?
  • Do you treat your spouse better when you are with other couples?
  • Do you put on a pretense when you are with someone you want to impress?

I have to admit, I’ve done all of the above. Knowing I have an audience of One helps me to accomplish God’s plan for my life and helps me to do all things for His glory (not mine or others). Colossians 3:2, says, “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (NIV).

Next time you look around for affirmation, acceptance, or an audience, focus on your audience of ONE.

Copyright © Christi McGuire 2011. All rights reserved.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 5:53 pm

    Excellent timing. I needed to be reminded of this today!

Leave a Reply

