Skip to content

God’s Voice via Satellite

September 12, 2011

Sometimes I can get so caught up in day-to-day life, that I forget there is a bigger world than just my household. Sometimes I forget that my God is the God of our nation, the God of all people, the God of the universe. Sometimes I forget that God cares about all of His people while also caring about my individual, tiny, minute, needs. Sometimes I miss out on the things God wants to teach me, reveal to me, speak to me.

On Saturday I was reminded of all of these things. God got in my face, spoke directly to me, and taught me that He not only cares for the entire world but He loves each and every person, including me.

I woke up realizing that it was going to be hard to sacrifice an entire day away from home. I love Saturdays, but they are busy, busy, busy. Snuggling with my girls watching cartoons, catching up on all the household chores that got ignored during the busy work week, finishing up freelance work before deadlines, writing blog posts, shopping for groceries and supplies, and enjoying family time is more than enough to fill a typical Saturday. But I felt impelled to attend the all-day Beth Moore Simulcast, and as I drove to the church, I felt that God would most definitely reveal Himself that day.

Perhaps you were also at a host location in your city and spent the day in worship and Bible study. Perhaps God revealed Himself to you in a mighty way. There were 180,000 people attending the live simulcast, which included 12 countries and 731 locations. God brought together people from all over the world to reveal Himself. Although I had other blog posts scheduled for this week, I want to share the principles that God placed on Beth’s heart to share with the world. And later in the week, I’d like to share, more for my own documentation and remembrance, the lessons God wanted me to take in and the messages He confirmed to me.

1. We were created for good company.

Galatians 4:13-15 tells that Paul was in Galatia and became very ill. Right after this time, Luke joined Paul and became his companion from this point until the end of Paul’s life. As you read Acts 16, you may notice a shift from the third person “they/them” to the first person “us/we.” This is the exact point that Luke joined Paul. They accompanied each other through their travels and ministries. In fact, Paul described how all his other companions deserted him, but Luke was the only one still with him (see 2 Timothy 4:9-12).

  • God has created us to be relational. Even as we live in a virtual world, we need others. We need the good company of others, and we need to learn how to be good company.

2. An individual calling can only be fulfilled in a “we” context.

Luke joined Paul’s journey in Acts 16 without any fanfare or introduction. He drew no attention to himself, even though God had a specific calling for him. Luke fulfilled God’s purpose in his life by joining with others.

  • God has an individual calling for each of us; however, He has created us to fulfill that destiny with others.

3. God never overlooks a single “me” in the bigger “we.”

Even when Luke had joined alongside Paul, the biggest hero of the New Testament (NT), God still used Luke in a mighty, individual way. When you compare the number of verses, Luke wrote more of the NT than Paul did. The Gospel of Luke and the Book of Acts total 2,157 verses; Paul’s NT writings total 2,032.

  • Although God wants us to be a part of good company, He doesn’t forget about our individuality!

4. Jesus became a friend of sinners so that we could become a friend of God.

Luke wrote about friends and friendships in his two books of the NT more than any other NT writer. An important lesson of the NT is that Jesus loves us, wants to be our friend, and wants us to be His friend.

  • The most excellent way to be a friend of God’s is to LOVE.

5. We can revel in the certainty of the things that we’ve been taught.

Luke said in Acts 1:1-3: “In my former book, Theophilus, I wrote about all that Jesus began to do and to teach until the day he was taken up to heaven, after giving instructions through the Holy Spirit to the apostles he had chosen. After his suffering, he showed himself to these men and gave many convincing proofs that he was alive. He appeared to them over a period of forty days and spoke about the kingdom of God” (NIV, emphasis mine).

The King James Version uses “infallible proofs.” Our Christian faith is based on fact and on infallible truth: the eyewitnesses saw and touched Jesus. Without Jesus, there is no personal relationship with God.

  • Bible study is not about academic learning—it’s about a personal relationship with God to know Him more.

6. Jesus has passed us the salt also!

Jesus calls us to be the “salt” of the world—the flavor that shows others who Jesus is. We are the “convincing proofs” to today’s world.

Luke said in Acts 28:29-30: “He [Paul] lived there two whole years at his own expense, and welcomed all who came to him, proclaiming the kingdom of God and teaching about the Lord Jesus Christ with all boldness and without hindrance (English Standard Version, emphasis mine).

  • God calls us to a life that is bold and unhindered. Break out and do what God has called you to do!

7. We can also be many convincing proofs that Jesus is alive.

Christ can be alive in us so that we can show the world that Jesus is alive and working!

  • Live in such a way that Christ is upon you so you can show the world that Jesus is alive.

This is a simple review of the points Beth talked about; of course, she infused so much more Scripture and examples and personality than what I’ve placed here. I believe on Wednesday I will share two personal ways God spoke to me, and on Friday the seven things He confirmed to me. If you were a blessed part of the simulcast and want to share how God spoke to you, please share with us!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

