Skip to content

Spiritual Markers

September 16, 2011

This week, for me, has been full of transparency and vulnerability, as I’ve shared teachings from Beth Moore and personal confirmations from God that came from that teaching. I’ve had to remind myself of my post “Audience of One” (from just last Friday!) and focus on God. This week has been a precious time of digesting God’s Word, sharing it with others, and being challenged by others. The first question a friend and mentor had for me was: “OK, now what are you going to do about it?” It’s one thing to say “God spoke to me,” but it’s another to digest it, change from it, and do something about it!

There were three tweets (say that five times fast!) from Joyce Meyer this week that helped me to process and digest:

  • Which is worse: the pain of change or the pain of never changing?
  • When a Scripture comes to life for you and is full of sudden meaning, hang on to it. That is God talking to you!
  • If you want to be successful at being yourself, you’re going to have to take a chance on not being like everyone else.

Unknowingly, Joyce Meyer helped me identify goals for myself that came from Beth Moore’s teaching. (Wow, don’t you love learning from other women and Bible study teachers!) My goals are to …

  1. Change (“Put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” Colossians 3:10)
  2. Hang on to Scripture (“For the word of God is living and active.” Hebrews 4:12)
  3. Be myself—who God made me to be—and not attempt to copy anybody else (“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17)

How God decides to work in me to accomplish these goals in my daily life, I am anxious to see! (And to continue my transparency, I’ll keep you posted!)

After the simulcast last Saturday, I wrote down seven confirmations from God that I felt from the day’s teaching. Although this is a way for me to commemorate the lessons I learned, perhaps God wants others to be blessed by these spiritual markers, as well.

  1. Although God has placed upon me a very individual calling that causes me to work “alone” most of the time, He wants me to fulfill my purpose in the context of others.
  2. God wants me to stop asking “WHY ME?” … stop  the inner turmoil (whining) of “Why should I write? No one cares what I have to say! It’s not unique like so-and-so who writes!” God just wants me to tell my story (to write what He leads me to write) in the way that only I can tell it.
  3. I can only live an abundant life (John 10:10) when I live an obedient life. “Disobedience to God deforms the heart; obedience to God reforms the heart” (Beth Moore).
  4. I need to put myself out to others. How often do we, as society, say “love ya” without making it personal and putting the “I” in front of it? Put the “I” back in “I LOVE YOU.”
  5. Everything God teaches us is not academic, for us to grow our mind and know more academically. It is to grow our heart and know HIM more.
  6. Denominations spend too much time on their differences, causing disunity and disharmony among Christians. Salvation in Jesus and Him alone is what matters. If we are the family of God, we need to act like it.
  7. I need to do what God has called me to do—break out and do it unhindered. “Boldly and without hindrance he [Paul] preached the kingdom of God and taught about the Lord Jesus Christ” (Acts 28: 31).

 

Thanks for hanging with me this week as I kicked open the front door and invited you into the matters of my heart. Please feel free to share how God is working in your life. Next week, we’ll tackle more simple and practical matters. Perhaps a little grammar, anyone?

“For I have redeemed you; I have called you by name,
you are mine.” (Isaiah 43:1)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 11:54 am

    This is beautiful.

  2. September 19, 2011 1:16 pm

    Thank you for putting yourself out there, Christi. It allows everyone to come here and breathe a little sigh, knowing you are real, so we can be real.

    I loved this post. I especially enjoyed your 7 confirmations. One of my confirmations that God recently spoke to me is this: This is the calling I have placed on your heart. You need not feel as if you have to defend why you are doing it a certain way or why you now have less time for other things you used to do.

    Knowing I am right with God and serving my God-given purpose, I need to stop worrying about whether or not other people deem it as the “right way” to serve God. That is just my own realization this week that I wanted to share with you.

    Thank you for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

