Skip to content

Bathroom Prayers

September 26, 2011

I’ve always had a problem with this verse from Matthew 6:6: “But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” I understood the meaning and the necessity of this verse; I just never seen to accomplish it!

 

As a mom of two young children, it seems like my prayer life and my quiet time are always the first to get forgotten about. The days are too busy, and by night I am too exhausted.

 

The other day I was … er … well … I was using the bathroom. Suddenly, I noticed I had been in there a little too long … and I had been praying. I laughed to myself and wondered whether or not it was blasphemous to pray while peeing. (Sorry, God!) Then I realized that I also usually pray in the shower. So now the two places that I am indisposed are the two places I use as my prayer closet to pray alone with God. Is that wrong? Well, some may think so. But at this stage in my life, these are the two places where I am alone, it’s quiet, and I can focus on talking to God.

 

A few years ago, an older, wiser mentor mom gave a bunch of us younger, less experienced moms some great advice. She told us not to feel guilty or be too hard on ourselves about our lack of quiet time. The stage we are in (having young children) is a season, and a difficult one. But this stage is fleeting; it too shall pass. There will be days as our children are older that we’ll have opportunities to divulge in wonderful, long prayer and quiet times. But for now, God understands as we pray a quick sentence now and then; God even understands the desperate “Help me today, Lord” pleas that we whisper.

 

This bit of advice helped me through a few tough years when all I did was nurse babies, change diapers, and scrub spit up off my clothes. I wasn’t able to divulge in hour-long Beth Moore Bible studies, or read the Bible through in a year, or become a prayer warrior. Everyone is in a different stage in their walk with God. For me, I needed to hear the words of grace from that mentor mom. I needed to know that life is full of seasons: nothing lasts forever.

 

So if the bathroom and shower produces opportunities for me to talk with God, well that’s OK for now. I appreciate the few moments alone with God. I know I won’t always have “bathroom prayers.” As my children grow and mature, so will my prayer life! I promise!

 

“But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” (Matthew 6:6)

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Kerth permalink
    September 26, 2011 9:21 am

    You always make me smile with your blog posts! Love you!

    • September 26, 2011 9:57 am

      I can make anything into a spiritual lesson–even taking a shower and going pee! 🙂

  2. September 26, 2011 4:42 pm

    Great post! I heard something similar before as well … God understands the season of life you are in. It’s all about your INDIVIDUAL walk with Him. 🙂

  3. October 1, 2011 12:08 pm

    Thank you for the confirmation!

Leave a Reply

