Skip to content

Little Miss Judgey Pants

October 3, 2011

I learned a tough lesson last week. Actually, I’ve spent a lifetime being taught this lesson, so apparently I haven’t learned it yet. But God continues to present opportunities to me in an effort for me to get it.

The Bible says “Do not judge, or you too will be judged” (Matthew 7:1, NIV). But I would not describe myself as judgmental. Well, not really. Maybe just a little. OK, OK … I am pretty judgmental. And apparently, after last week, I am judgmental of people I don’t even know.

An amazing friend had the wonderful opportunity to speak at a women’s Bible study. When she told me she had this speaking engagement, I was so excited for her! Then she told me the biggest news: a famous celebrity was going to be at the Bible study, too! Wow! I am totally star struck when I see celebrities! Whenever I would see country stars or Christian music stars when I lived in Nashville, I acted like a total fool. I just can’t act like a respectable person in the presence of fortune and fame!

Then she told me who it was. Who? Who did you say it was? Really? She’s a Christian? Huh.

This particular celebrity has been held in the court of contempt in my mind for years. Of course, she didn’t know it. And I don’t even know her! But years back she divorced her husband and got married a little too soon after, according to my liking. So for literally years, I have not liked her, refused to watch her when I saw her on TV, and became disgusted at the mention of her name.

Did I know her circumstances? No. Was I compassionate about her divorce, understanding any suffering and heartbreak she may have endured? Nope. Was I open to the possibly that God has redeemed her life by bringing her a godly, loving husband? Noooo.

How could I have judged this woman when I didn’t even know her circumstances, her character … I didn’t even know her? How could I have judged this woman when God is very clear in Scripture: “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye” (Matthew 7:1-5).

I was thrilled for my friend who got an opportunity to share God’s love to a group of women. But I was granted the opportunity to see how wrong my thoughts, attitude, and actions had been. Thank You, Lord … Please forgive me.

It is difficult to admit how judgmental I was, I am, and probably will continue to be until God totally gets full control of this area in my life. Lord, help me to see others how YOU see them. Help me to see how far they’ve come, not how far they have to go. Help me not to judge others, because I sure don’t want to be judged by the same measuring stick. Forgive me …

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    October 3, 2011 10:54 am

    Great reminder and warning for us this morning, Christi. It is so easy to judge others. I think you presented the most important thing to prevent being so judgmental – seeing others as God would see them, not as we do.

    • October 3, 2011 8:42 pm

      It sounds, but harder to do! That’s one reason we must always focus on HIM!

  2. October 3, 2011 4:53 pm

    Um yeah .. that whole “plank” thing? I was definitely convicted of that very thing this past weekend! Great post!

  3. October 4, 2011 12:47 am

    Thank you for putting yourself out there and revealing this difficult truth. I am guilty of being judgmental, not only with other people but especially myself. You have inspired me to really evaluate why I do this.

    I am especially drawn to this line you wrote: “Lord, help me to see others how YOU see them. Help me to see how far they’ve come, not how far they have to go.” This really resonates with me.

    Thank you for bringing this valuable message to me today.

    • October 4, 2011 5:06 pm

      You are right … in order to overcome this sin, we must evaluate WHY we do it. Most times, I find that it is due to my insecurities … I’m insecure of my looks or talents or something! I find it has more to do with me than the other person. Yikes!

  4. Nikki permalink
    October 4, 2011 7:26 am

    You are such a wonderful inspiration to so many! Thanks for sharing your experiences so we can grow in our Christian walk! Miss you dear friend!

    • October 4, 2011 5:07 pm

      Thank you, Nikki! I hope I can help others by being transparent and honest … maybe a little too honest! 🙂 I miss you so much!

Trackbacks

  1. Love Is Truthful « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

