Skip to content

An Eye-Opening Trip

October 10, 2011

Last week I was able to accompany my husband on an overnight business trip. I’ve never been able to do this since having our kids, so it was great to have grandma visit and care for them while I tagged along to Miami, Florida, a
3-hour trip from our house.

While it was wonderful to get away with my husband, enjoy long, in-depth conversations without hearing “Mommy! Mommy!” every three seconds, and finish a delicious, hot meal, I realized a lot of things about my husband’s travels that I’d like to share.

    • Do I truly appreciate the work my husband does?
      Although both my husband and I work, he is definitely the breadwinner. However, paychecks and bills are just numbers to me: numbers added and numbers subtracted. So I must be honest and say that I most likely do not fully appreciate the hard work that my husband accomplishes at his job every day. I must be thankful and show my gratitude for him working to provide the necessities (and a few “wants”) for our family.
    • Do I pray for his safety?
      My husband works in sales and travels the state of Florida every week. How much time do I spend praying for his protection as he drives? Not as much as I should. After experiencing the traffic in Miami, I now realize this must be a priority!
    • Do I pray for strength, wisdom, and integrity over his life?
      I must pray for strength and good health for my husband to be able to continue working to his full capabilities. I want to pray for wisdom for him as he makes decisions that affect his work, his reputation, and his relationships with others. I must pray integrity over his life: that in all things he deals honestly, truthfully, and with integrity.
    • Do I pray against temptation?
      There are many temptations for men in the world, especially those who travel away from their families and sources of accountability. All wives should pray over their husbands to remain strong, resist temptation, and be faithful to their marriage vows in order to not let the devil get a foothold in your family life.
    • Do I take an interest in his work?
      When my husband tells me about a business deal or a difficult conversation with a business associate, do I act uninterested or do I give him my full attention? Honestly, I don’t have much interest in the industry that my husband is in; however, if I care about my husband, I need to care about the things he cares about. (After all, he really does listen as I drone on about grammar!) If I don’t support him by listening and being engaged while he shares details about his job with me, then he’ll eventually no longer share with me.
    • Am I the helpmate that my husband needs me to be?
      While he is away, my job is to run the household. Do I do so joyfully? Do I uphold my husband’s good name while he is away, or do I complain to others? What do I instill into my kids while Daddy is away? When he returns, do I nag him right away about what needs attention at home, or do I greet him happily with appreciation for the tough week he has had providing for us? In all I do and say, I should be the helpmate that God has created me to be for him.
ANY CHARACTER HERE

        God used this opportunity to travel with my husband as an eye-opener to what I should be praying about, over, and for: my husband. Stormie Omartian wrote a very helpful book for wives: “The Power of a Praying Wife.” This book gives 30 areas that wives should be praying for in their husbands’ lives, as well as lots of Scripture that can draw spouses closer together in marriage.

 

Wives, let’s share together: What other areas do you pray for your husband? How do you stay connected if/when your husband travels? What tips, suggestions, or encouragement can you give to other wives?

 

(For more info or to order “The Power of a Praying Wife”
from Amazon.com, click here.)

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    October 10, 2011 10:12 am

    I love praying Colossians 1:9-12 (I think I found this first in “For Women Only” by Shaunti Feldhahn). This prayer is a great one for anyone, but it is especially great for our husbands. Shaunti recommends inserting our husband’s name in place of “you” in that text. I don’t pray this as much as I should and like you have been more convicted to really be supporting my husband through my prayers.

    When my hubby travels, he loves to receive picture texts of what our daughter is doing. It makes him feel a part of our day even though he is somewhere else.

    • October 10, 2011 10:35 am

      That is a great verse to pray for our husbands! Thanks for sharing that … I will be praying that for my husband, who is traveling today!

  2. October 10, 2011 12:31 pm

    Like Erin, I send pictures or videos to him throughout the day. I also try to make notes of what happens during the day even when isn’t out of town. I am always so worn out by the time we get the boys down that I often forget the good and rough moments from the day. If I write them down, then I can share them with him.

  3. October 11, 2011 6:13 pm

    Sometimes I think Brandon has it sooo good because he gets to stay in hotels and eat yummy food all on the company’s tab … but then I remember his long hours, early morning flights, lost luggage, etc etc. So I need to keep myself in “check” and realize that the work he’s doing is challenging and he needs my support and prayer!

    • October 11, 2011 8:42 pm

      I hear ya! It gets worse when you feel “stuck” at home with the kids and all you seem to do is change diapers, give baths, do the laundry, etc, etc. … but then God gets a whole of my attitude and He turns it into gratitude!

Leave a Reply

