Skip to content

Yahweh: I AM

October 24, 2011

In the Old Testament, the Lord revealed Himself to Moses as YHWH, “I AM.” Exodus 3:14 reveals: “God said to Moses, ‘I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I AM has sent me to you” ’ ” (NIV). In Hebrew, there is no vowel system, so the sacred name of God was “YHWH.” The English language substitutes vowels to become the word “Yahweh.” When the sacred name is used in English Bibles, all capital letters are used for “LORD.” YHWH was the most reverent, holy name for God. It was too sacred even to say aloud. YHWH comes from the Hebrew word “to be.” God was going to be all that Moses and the Israelites needed.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Exodus 3:15 says: “God also said to Moses, ‘Say to the Israelites, “The LORD, the God of your fathers—the God Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.” ‘This is my name forever, the name by which I am to be remembered from generation to generation’ ” (NIV). God was not only going to be everything that Moses needed, but He would be everything that every future generation would need, as well. And He would be remembered by one simple name: I AM.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

In the New Testament, Jesus reveals Himself as YHWH, “I AM.” John 8:58 says: “ ‘I tell you the truth,’ Jesus answered, ‘before Abraham was born, I am!’ ” (NIV). Jesus was to be everything humanity needed: a messiah, the ultimate salvation, and everlasting life.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Jesus is everything and anything you need. He is I AM.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Do you need a Savior? I AM.
Do you need a Deliverer? I AM.
Do you need the Prince of Peace? I AM.
Do you need a Provider? I AM.
Do you need a Comforter? I AM.
Do you need wisdom? I AM.
Do you need to be restored? I AM.
Do you need a friend? I AM.
Do you need healing? I AM.
Do you need to be loved? I AM.
Do you need to know His name? I AM.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

What do you need today? Ask Jesus. He is I AM.

ANY CHARACTER HERE
5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 12:26 pm

    This is a beautiful post. I was just reading Exodus yesterday.God is unchanging; he is consistent, he is steadfast. To me all those things reinforce Him as: “I am.”

    Thank you for this lovely reminder.

    • October 25, 2011 6:08 pm

      Rachel, I agree…”I AM” stands for everything HE is. When I feel despair, reading these passages helps me remember that He is I AM.

  2. Janelle permalink
    October 25, 2011 11:51 am

    Man that HIT….HIT….HIT….
    HE IS ALL,ALL WE NEED, in the most sacred way…..amen

    • October 25, 2011 6:10 pm

      Janelle,
      Halfway around the world in Africa, HE is your I AM. Praying that the I AM demonstrates His Almighty power and presence to you, Benson, and all the people you are with! God bless you!

  3. Cheri permalink
    October 28, 2011 10:00 pm

    My dearest Christi….love these blogs….encouraging and inspiring :-)…..also, I had to chuckle a bit on the folding of fitted sheets. Yes….I can fold a mean sheet, but I truly found out how to do it by watching Martha Stewart do this on a program she had 🙂 Who’d a thunk!

Leave a Reply

