Skip to content

What in the World Wednesdays?

October 26, 2011

 

Today is the last Wednesday of October already! Fall is flying by fast! Our family has been consumed this week with the stomach flu (ugh), hives (ugh), and lots of kindergarten math homework … but I was still able to snag a few of my faves off the web to share with you all. Enjoy!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

Halloween isn’t here yet and Thanksgiving is still a month away, so you know there are lots of yummy pumpkin recipes yet to make! This food blog has become one of my favorite, as I featured it last week, too. But I could not pass up sharing these pumpkin popcorn balls! Our family usually makes popcorn balls for Christmas, but I love the pumpkin twist! Try them out at Love & Flour.

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

I will admit right now how uncreative I am with my children’s lunches. My kindergartener usually packs a crustable, applesauce, carrots, and cheese. BORING! But check out these fantastic Bento lunch box ideas at Parenting.com. I may be bold enough to make these for my girls!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

Can anyone really fold a fitted sheet? I know I probably curse every time I try, then end of wadding it up and throwing it back in the linen closet. I think of my sweet mother-in-law every time, because I’m pretty positive she can fold a fitted sheet perfectly. But if you are not a Martha Stewart and need tips (like me!) on how to fold a fitted sheet, here is not only how-to directions, here’s a video! Thanks, Real Simple!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

From sheets to sermons! I’ve mentioned before that I listen to Moody Radio. They feature amazing programs with godly men and women. This morning after I dropped my little one off at preschool, I tuned in and caught part of Dr. Henry Blackaby’s series on prayer. It’s called, “Teach Us to Pray: Boldness to Enter the Holiest Place.” Wow, did it knock my socks off! Dr. Blackaby made many points that convicted and opened my eyes to what God’s Word really says about coming to Him for prayer. You can listen to the sermon here, as well as check back tomorrow for part two of the series. 

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

I’ve never read the blog, “Intentional Leadership” by Michael Hyatt before, but I believe I will now. Michael encourages readers to think about whether you are living your dream, or merely living the life that someone else has prescribed you. Are you living your God-given calling, or are you accomplishing the “dream” of somebody else, which isn’t really turning out to be a fairy tale, after all? He poses three questions that help process this insightful post.

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

Everybody has been a buzz for a while over the sad (and much too soon) passing of Steve Jobs. Lots of advice from the genius of Apple is floating over the Internet, but this post brings the focus back to what God says in 1 Corinthians 10:31: Do everything to the glory of God. An interesting read by John Piper at “Desiring God.”

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

There is a discussion going on at Parenting.com over schools being heavy on technology or technology free. Would you send your kids to a tech-free school? Or are you concerned that your school has the latest and greatest gadgets? It’s an interesting debate stemmed from a NY Times article. Read and see which side you are on right here.

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
5 Comments leave one →
  1. bethkvogt permalink
    October 26, 2011 12:11 pm

    Wow, Christie, you packed this post full, didn’t you? I think I’ll start with by clicking on the link to Blackaby’s sermon series on prayer.

    • October 26, 2011 2:45 pm

      Thanks! There is so much more wonderful stuff to share, but I thought I would limit myself. Let me know what you think about the prayer podcast!

  2. October 26, 2011 4:57 pm

    Great finds, Christi!

Trackbacks

  1. What in the World Wednesdays? « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

