Skip to content

God’s Word = Truth

October 28, 2011

God’s Word is so precious, so true, so timely, so alive … so simply amazing when you read it and let the Holy Spirit pour the words over you like an unending pool of living water. Why is this so? A wise mentor and well-loved friend has given this reason: God’s Holy Word is the only book ever written where the Author is alive and living inside of you to help interpret, guide, process, and put into practice His truths.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I’ve been working on reading the New Testament this year. Our church challenged us in January to read through the NT in 30 days. I couldn’t keep up with that pace, but I am enjoying the quiet moments each morning as I make my way through the NT. I just finished the Book of Romans. What a book! Each sentence is a nugget of truth that one could contemplate and meditate on for quite some time. I found myself reading and rereading paragraphs over and over in an attempt to fully comprehend Paul’s meaning. Romans is definitely one of my many favorite books of the Bible!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

This week I started 1 Corinthians. Some of the first few verses really struck me, and I’ve been reading them over and over each morning.

1 Corinthians 1:4-9 says:

“I always thank God for you because of his grace given you in Christ Jesus. For in him you have been enriched in every way–in all your speaking and in all your knowledge—because our testimony about Christ was confirmed in you. Therefore you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed. He will keep you strong to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful.”

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Let’s break down all of the truths God is presenting in these six verses.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

1. We should thank God for our brothers and sisters in Christ.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

2. Believers have been given grace in Jesus Christ.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

3. God has enriched us in every way to do His work; He has equipped us to accomplish His will.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

4. God confirms the testimony He gives us.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

5. God does not withhold spiritual gifts from us; He grants us spiritual gifts to accomplish the unique purpose He has for each of us.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

6. Believers should be eagerly waiting for Christ’s return.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

7. Believers should be strong through the end times until Christ’s return.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

8. God desires for His followers to be blameless on the day of Christ’s return.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

9. God has called us into fellowship with Jesus Christ—He desires for us to have an intimate relationship with Him.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

10. Our Lord Jesus Christ is faithful.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Whew! Can you believe all the truths found in these few verses? God’s Word can enrich your soul. My challenge to you is this: Read 1 Corinthians 1:4-9 each morning this week. Meditate on the truths that God presents to you, asking the Holy Spirit for help to implement these truths in your daily life. Share the truths of this passage with others.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

God’s Word is truth, the only truth. Read it, believe it, act upon it!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 4:57 pm

    I hear a teacher in there:) When the kids were little, I found it nearly impossible to have study time. It’s great that you are disciplined to set aside time. I tended to listen on the run. Now that I do more studying, I’m constantly amazed at how very true when Jesus said, “man cannont live by bread alone, but by every word the proceeds from the mouth of God”!

    • October 28, 2011 5:08 pm

      I guess I’ll always have a teacher mentality! 🙂 I wish I had more time for studying. I have to get up early before anybody else gets up to have quiet time. I wish I could say it’s every day, but I battle wanting to sleep too much! 🙂 But more and more I fall in love with God’s Word!

  2. October 29, 2011 5:56 pm

    Oh! That’s why I didn’t have time back then….Didn’t realize I had to get up BEFORE the kids! lol

Leave a Reply

