Skip to content

Are You Barefoot?

November 7, 2011

I have lived in on the Gulf Coast of Florida for 7 ½ years, and I love it! I am spoiled by the sun, warm temps, and soft ocean breeze. And you know what else? My tootsies love it, too! No more heavy socks and bulky shoes. My feet love being barefoot. I cringe when I have to put socks and shoes on to travel back North. I hate wearing shoes! My girls, ages 5 and 3, are definitely Florida girls, as well. They rarely can be found with any shoes on, even when playing outside. They love to be barefoot!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Do you love to be barefoot? What about spiritually speaking? Are you bare before the Lord, with nothing between your “sole” (soul) and Him?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Perhaps are you more comfortable with flip flops on: Just a thin little strap of something between your toes. You want to be barefoot, but you like the security that flip flops bring. You desire to have a close relationship with God, but you just can’t quite let go of the last remaining “something” (whatever that something might be) that is between you and God. You can’t quite fully trust enough to walk with God, nothing inhibiting you.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Or you may even be a shoe lover. You not only want socks on, but you want a full closed-toe shoe to make sure you are protected against any kind of weather, any kind of wear, any kind of threat. Are you fully closed off to God? Do you like the feeling of being protected by your own means? No way can you be barefoot, naked before everyone. You are in charge of your life. Running barefoot is for those sillies who don’t take life seriously!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Which type of shoe wearer are you? Which type of Christian are you? I like to think I am mostly a barefoot type of Floridian—and Christian. However, to be honest, there are those days when the clouds come (literally and figuratively), and I take comfort in pulling on my socks—going back to my roots of safety and security instead of trusting God.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

God wants us to come bare before Him, empty so that He may fill us up. He desires that nothing is between us and Him, no sins, insecurities, burdens—not even the tiniest strap of a sandal.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Kick off your shoes … put aside the flip flops … go spiritually barefoot before the Lord today!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me.
He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and
show myself to him.” (John 14:21, NIV)

ANY CHARACTER HERE
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christi permalink
    November 7, 2011 3:21 pm

    I just stumbled across your blog (I searched for myself on the web – I too am Christi McGuire) and can’t get enough of it.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with the rest of us!

    • November 7, 2011 4:03 pm

      That is too cool! Usually our first name is spelled differently. I’m so glad you are enjoying reading!

Trackbacks

  1. Are You Looking? « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

