Skip to content

The “Perfect” Christmas

December 2, 2011

Last weekend my family started decorating for Christmas. My girls were so excited, my husband was a little less thrilled, and I just love any reason to listen to Michael W. Smith’s Christmas CDs! This year, however, I took a “hands-free” approach, thanks to Hands Free Mama. I let the girls decorate the entire tree by themselves, without any “help” from perfectionist Mommy. I didn’t “suggest” that one spot had too many ornaments and another side of the tree was totally bare. I didn’t “encourage” them not to put all the red bulbs in a clump but to spread out the red and silver evenly around the tree. The result? What two precious girls call “PERFECT!”

ANY CHARACTER HERE

What are your pre-set ideals for the holiday season? Are you determined that your decorating, shopping, baking, and party planning are going to go exactly according to your perfect plan? Is your idea of what is “perfect” the same as your children’s? Your husband’s? Your other family members? Are you so focused on the busyness of the Christmas season that you miss seeing “CHRIST”?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

It’s only two days into December. Evaluate your plan for the next month. Perhaps you don’t need a “plan” at all. Or a schedule. Or a to-do list. Perhaps this year you can enjoy … relax … breathe … have fun … worship … rejoice … celebrate! Push away the “perfect” determinations you may have and draw in the perfect peace that only the Prince of Peace can bring.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9:6, NIV)

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 10:36 am

    Thanks for the reminder ~ it’s way to easy for me to get caught up in my own plan!

    • December 4, 2011 10:03 am

      Katie, great to “meet” you! I checked out your “about me” page and really appreciate your words…your honesty and transparency. I’ll be following you! 🙂

  2. December 2, 2011 11:31 am

    Oh Christi, I wonder if you and I happen to be doing the same Hands Free approach to tree decorating at the same time??? Seriously, I had JUST posted a picture of Avery decorating the tree (all her favorite ornaments in one spot at the bottom of the tree) on “The Hands Free Revolution.” Then I go to your blog and read this!

    This is so inspiring to think other people are joining me in letting go of the things that take our focus off what truly matters.

    I once wrote, “Happiness trumps perfection,” and I am adopting that motto this holiday! Thank you so much for being right there beside me!!!! Love you!!!

    • December 4, 2011 10:06 am

      Ahhh, that is awesome!! When we were decorating, I kept saying to myself, “Just let them do it. Rachel would say just take in the moment and let them have fun!” Haha! I’m so glad God blessed me by meeting you and that we are forever friends! Thanks again and again for all your words of encouraging…you are changing lives!!!!

  3. Sarah C. permalink
    December 2, 2011 11:42 am

    I love this! Thanks for the reminder that things don’t have to be “perfect.” I’ve been putting off the decorating this year because I’ve been overwhelmed at the thought of doing it all. I think I’ll follow your approach and let my kids take over. They’re super excited about it anyway, and I have a feeling they’ll do just fine!

    • December 4, 2011 10:07 am

      Sarah, I know what you mean about being overwhelming. Sometimes I dread holidays and birthdays b/c it’s too overwhelming and I just want it to be over. But this time, I knew I did the right thing b/c the next day Mary-Allison said, “Mommy, the best part of Christmas was decorating the tree last night all by ourselves!!” Priceless! 🙂

  4. December 2, 2011 4:43 pm

    Speaking of perfection…I hope you were listening to the INSTRUMENTAL music of our dear Michael. 😉

    • December 4, 2011 10:08 am

      Wellllll………no, but his Christmas CDs are a lot better than the regular ones!! 😉

  5. December 2, 2011 5:34 pm

    Good thoughts! As a perfectionist by nature, I have over the past few years been pondering what it looks like to be perfect from God’s perspective, and its not decorations or a perfectly kept house, but a sinless life– and only Christ has accomplished it. Let’s focus on him this season, and always!

    • December 4, 2011 10:10 am

      That is a great thought to look at perfection from God’s perspective! It’s wrapped up in His Son, JESUS. To strive to be like HIM and not what we think is “perfect” should be our focus. Thanks, Stefani!

  6. December 2, 2011 7:05 pm

    Sooo are you saying that I shouldn’t try to make the perfect Christmas dessert for our Christmas Eve festivities?? 😉

    Just kidding, of course. I definitely want to spend this holiday season praising God and enjoying quality time with friends and family … like you!! 🙂 Love ya!

  7. December 3, 2011 8:47 pm

    The tree is beautiful, just like the girls who decorated it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

