Skip to content

Mamma Mia

December 9, 2011

I’d like to introduce you to one of the loves of my life: 

This is Mia Alisabeth—she is my baby girl, and tomorrow she’ll be 4 years old! “Mia” in both Spanish and Italian means “mine,” and she is definitely my baby. Although fiercely independent, she is still a mama’s girl. I like to call her “Mamma Mia!”

When I was pregnant, we didn’t find out the sex, but I just knew it was going to be a boy, because the baby constantly moved and kicked. Nothing much has changed, as she’s always in constant motion! When she was born, the doctor said, “Would you like to know what it is?”

I said “YES!” The doctor said, “It’s a girl!” I said, “WHAT? Are you sure? check again!” The doctor held her over the sheet barrier of the c-section table and said, “See, she’s a girl!”

In the recovery room, I was so amazed that God gave us another girl. I kept saying, “Thank You, Jesus!” over and over. The nurses thought I was delirious with pain and asked if I wanted more pain meds. I said, “No, I’m just happy!”

As a newborn, she was mostly quiet—when she wasn’t crying to be fed, which was ALL the time! As soon as she realized she had an older sister (who absolutely adored her), she was always in competition to “keep up.” As she grew, there was one word to describe her: ORNERY. She had the orneriest little smile I’d ever see. Don’t believe me? Look at this picture:

Mia is very strong-willed, independent, and only has one volume: loud! She loves the color purple, loves to dress up and play board games, and absolutely loves all animals. Whatever emotion she is feeling, it is extreme. She is full of energy and passion. She likes to be “fancy” and “glittery” and tells me when my outfit is just not pretty enough. She loves candy and Superman ice cream. She is the first to remind us to pray at dinner time and bedtime and remembers to pray for her great-grandpa’s yellow bird. She is the best at giving hugs and is very loving and kind. She likes to pat my back and say, “Mama, I love you!” One day she will set the world on fire for Jesus—and she won’t take “no” for an answer!

My Sweet Mamma Mia, Happy Birthday! I LOVE YOU!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Kerth permalink
    December 9, 2011 9:41 am

    Love this and love your sweet Mia! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  2. December 9, 2011 10:23 am

    She certainly has your eyes. Pretty girl. Happy Birthday, Mia! 😀

  3. December 9, 2011 11:26 am

    I love all of your memories. Happy birthday Mia!

    • December 12, 2011 2:08 pm

      Thanks! In some ways, memories seem like it was yesterday and also like it was a long time ago!

  4. December 9, 2011 5:13 pm

    Happy Birthday, to my sweet niece! Tell her that we have fun birthday gifts waiting for her in Ohio … so she better hurry up and get here! 😉

Leave a Reply

