Skip to content

What in the World Wednesday?

December 14, 2011

“It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” is one of my favorite Christmas songs! However, it looks nothing like Christmas here in Florida. It’s 80 degrees, and we are wearing t-shirts and flip flops and mowing grass and playing outside. I love living here, but it’s just plain weird during the month where I long for chilly temps and a soft snow fall! But all of the wonderful Christmas finds around the web are helping me get in the spirit of Christmas!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • Real Simple is great at making things … real simple! I love this easy way to make new ornaments for the tree. Wouldn’t it be cute to have a little Christmas tree in the kitchen with these Cookie Cutter Ornaments?
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • This isn’t necessarily a Christmas recipe, but it is green and festive looking! I stumbled upon the site “Fearless Homemaker” and even with the word “avocado” in the title, this pasta dish looks quite yummy: Creamy Avocado Pasta.
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • Every year I struggle with putting too much emphasis on family traditions and “doing” Christmas that I lose sight of worshipping Jesus. This post from “Rubies and Rewards” really hit me where it hurt—it’s probably the best Christmas post I’ve read. I strongly encourage you to read, “Who or What Am I Worshipping?”
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • Here’s another confession: I am a yeller. I really do try not to be, but my natural inclination is to yell, especially at my kids. I know it’s wrong, and as I grow in the Lord, He has helped me grow as a parent. So what does yelling have to do with Christmas? Well, there tends to be a lot more yelling around family functions at Christmastime! (Or is that just in my family?) This article from Parenting has some useful tips. If you, too, are a “yeller,” check out “No More Yelling!”
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 11:00 am

    thanks so much for featuring my creamy avocado pasta! it was absolutely delicious + definitely pretty, with lovely green color. it’s going to be 70 degrees in nashville today, so it’s not quite feeling like christmas yet, but i’m still getting in the spirit. hope you + your family have a wonderful + blessed holiday season + christmas!

    • December 15, 2011 7:25 pm

      Hi Amy! I love your blog–can’t wait to check it out more! And I can’t wait to try the pasta. It looks so good and fairly easy to make. I might be able to pull it off!

      I used to live in Nashville, too! I love it! I was just there in November for a writer’s conference. But 70 in December is pretty unusual!

      Merry Christmas!!

  2. bethkvogt permalink
    December 14, 2011 11:13 am

    i love Real Simple too — so many helpful hints.
    Looking forward to checking out these other links.
    And yeah, that yelling thing?
    I understand.

    • December 15, 2011 7:26 pm

      Hi Beth … glad to know someone else understands. Maybe all moms are secret yellers? Sometimes, it’s the ONLY thing that gets their attention!

      Merry Christmas!

  3. December 15, 2011 1:06 am

    Thanks for the articles ~ they both provided a LOT of information on a topic that has been front and center for my husband lately. I had never even heard of Crosswalk.com before! I’m also impressed with your willingness to open up about your yelling; I think transparency is a big part of the process! Okay, also I loved the Mary and Joseph Facebook video 😉

    • December 15, 2011 7:29 pm

      Hi Katie!
      I use Crosswalk a lot to look up Scripture when I edit and write, but recently I’ve read a lot of good articles, too. I was really interested to learn about the history of Dec. 25th, because there are some people that refuse to celebrate Christmas because it started out as a pagan holiday. But that article really explained the history well, I thought. There’s another good one about women not being submissive men … very interesting!

      Thanks for reading! Merry Christmas!

      • December 15, 2011 7:30 pm

        Oops…I mean “submissive TO men.” (Not “women being submissive men” haha! )

      • February 2, 2012 2:31 pm

        Wonderful!Knowing where to find your ptaentiol customers is key to a successful business! My sister and I once set up a lemonade stand when the city was doing street repairs, and we made a killing off those construction workers on a 90+ summer day.

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Things « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

