Skip to content

A Silent Night

December 16, 2011

Amidst all the Christmas songs playing on the radio, I didn’t really take note of Amy Grant’s song, “I Need a Silent Night.” Then one day I was rushing around, late as always, stuck in traffic—darn Christmas shoppers!—and the words pierced my heart. Yep, here was another Christmas season where I get caught up in all Christmas “things” to do, places to go, presents to buy, food to make, decorations to hang, pageants to see … and I missed worshipping Jesus, the baby born in the manger.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Amy is right—I need a little silence to hear God speak through the Son He sent to earth. I need a little peace to end the crazy, chaotic days.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

During the next week before Christmas, ask yourself if you’re caught up in the things of Christmas (however “good” and family oriented they might be), or if you’re caught up in God’s overwhelming love for you. Take a few moments each day to embrace the peace that Jesus brought to the world. When your family is asleep, steal a few moments alone—just you and the twinkling lights of the Christmas tree—to read the story of Jesus’ birth in the Bible. Thank God for the first “silent night,” and because of that your life can forever be filled with His peace!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

 “I Need a Silent Night” 

I’ve made the same mistake before
Too many malls, too many stores.
December traffic, Christmas rush
It breaks me till I push and shove.

Children are crying while mothers are trying
To photograph Santa and sleigh.
The shopping and buying and standing forever in line,
What can I say?

I need a silent night, a holy night
To hear an angel voice through the chaos and the noise.
I need a midnight clear, a little peace right here
To end this crazy day with a silent night.

December comes then disappears
Faster and faster every year.
Did my own mother keep this pace
Or was the world a different place?

Where people stayed home wishing for snow
Watching three channels on their TV.
Look at us now rushing around
Trying to buy Christmas peace.

What was it like back there in Bethlehem,
With peace on earth, good will toward men?

Every shepherd’s out in the field
Keeping watch over their clock by night.
And the glory of the Lord shone around them
And they were so afraid.

And the angels said, “Fear not, for behold
I bring you good news of a great joy that shall be for all people.
For unto you is born this day a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.
And his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Prince of Peace.”

I need a silent night, a holy night
To hear an angel voice through the chaos and the noise.
I need a midnight clear, a little peace right here
To end this crazy day with a silent night.

(Lyrics & music by Chris Eaton and Amy Grant)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 9:10 am

    Christmas is too often about rushing around doing and not often enough about sitting and thinking.

  2. December 16, 2011 9:11 am

    This song is one of my favorites, as well. And it seems I always hear it when I’m in the midst of all the Christmas preparations and not giving much thought to Him!

  3. December 16, 2011 9:30 am

    What an incredible reminder about the reason for the season! It is always a shame when Christ is left out of Christmas!

    • December 17, 2011 9:48 am

      Unfortunately, it’s easy to leave Christ out of His own birth when everything is Santa, “holidays,” and shopping, shopping, shopping! I need a constant reminder of HIM! 🙂

  4. December 16, 2011 10:37 am

    I just heard this song for the first time the other day. I love it!

    Delana

    http://delanasworld.wordpress.com
    http://nineyearpregnancy.wordpress.com

  5. December 16, 2011 3:36 pm

    I haven’t heard this song! Going to find it on YouTube now…great reminder!

  6. December 16, 2011 11:05 pm

    Thanks for this! I’m not sure if I’ve heard this song before, I’ll definitely have to check it out. I’m really doing a lot of questioning this year about the extra stuff surrounding Christmas this year… Posts like this are helpful!

    • December 17, 2011 9:50 am

      I’m doing a lot of thinking and questioning, too … even “family traditions” that we’ve always, always done that are good and bring togetherness, but are more about “Christmas” than “Christ.”

  7. December 17, 2011 12:01 am

    Yep – I need a silent night. Funny, it’s usually never silent in my house (except at night when everyone is sleeping) but I have a feeling I’m the one who needs to work on being silent. Thanks.

    • December 17, 2011 9:51 am

      It’s more about me, too! But how to be “silent” when there’s a lot of laundry, cleaning, work, etc?!?! I’m trying to figure it out! 🙂

  8. December 20, 2011 11:04 am

    Christmas: In honor of Jesus’ birth we:
    1. Cancel or extremely trunkate church and Sunday school
    2. Cancel Bible study or substitute it with partying
    3. Eat at least ten times the toxic food we would usually
    4. Surround ourselves with highly poisonous plants
    5. Incur debt
    6. Risk our lives driving in horrific weather
    And that’s just the church folks.

    I once read a sign that said: You have to have Christ to have Christmas.
    But it is not true. Most people prove that every year.

    More importantly–and this fact few people realize–you do NOT have to have Christmas to have Christ. The first settlers in America proved that.

    He freed us for the purpose of being free.

    Have you read Bro. Lawrence’s book: /Practicing the Presence of Christ/ ? This man ran a monastery kitchen. That’s busy. But he “figured it out”.

Leave a Reply

