Skip to content

My Favorite Things

December 21, 2011

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Since it’s the week before Christmas, I’m going to convert my usual “What in the World Wednesdays” post into “My Favorite Things.” My list doesn’t consist of raindrops on roses or whiskers on kittens, but the following have become some of my favorites during 2011. Maybe you’ll enjoy them, too!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Burt Bees Lip Balm. If you know me at all, you know I am truly addicted … to chapstick! I am constantly applying it and have literally bought all brands in an attempt to find the best. It’s a tough balance between texture, tasting and smelling good, and moisturizing well. Burt Bees wins the prize for the best lip balm ever! My favorite flavor is “Acai Berry.” Unfortunately, I’ve now hooked my daughters on chapstick, too. We never leave the house without it!

Tom’s Shoes. A friend introduced me to these shoes, and now I wear them every day! They are cute, comfortable, and fairly affordable! I usually forget I have shoes on, because they feel like I’m wearing slippers. My toesies don’t like anything but flip flops, but now they like a man named Tom!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

The Help. My favorite book and movie of the year! Although the book was first published in 2009, I didn’t crack it open until this year—and then couldn’t put it down! The release of the movie in August was the first time I was pleased with a book-turned-movie. There is much, much more detail in the book, but the movie makers did an excellent job of translating the characters from book to screen. A must read—and see—for everyone!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Cheesecake with Praline Sauce. This is my favorite Christmas dessert. Of course, any occasion calls for cheesecake, but this makes a pretty presentation for your merry table setting. Paula Deen is the best at all-things desserts. I dare you to eat just one slice!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Jo Malone. Would you like to combine your favorite scents to create your own personal fragrance? That is the philosophy of “Fragrance Combining” by Jo Malone. You can choose several scents that are “citrus, fruity, light floral, floral, spicy, or woody.” My personal signature fragrance is “English Pear & Freesia.”

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Hands Free Mama. She’s a friend, a blog, and a lifestyle. Last summer, “divine” circumstances allowed me to meet Rachel, the writer of my favorite blog, “Hands Free Mama.” She writes with a romantic flare, yet pierces to matters of the heart. Her words are precise and perfect, and each post is more amazing than the last. Moreover, she is causing a sensation among women who want to convert their technology-tied lifestyle into being “hands free” in order to embrace each moment with those who matter most. Won’t you join her on her “hands free” journey, too?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

What has become your “Favorite Things” in 2011? Please share!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
7 Comments leave one →
  1. bethkvogt permalink
    December 21, 2011 9:13 am

    Good morning!
    The Help was one of my favorite reads in 2011 too! Haven’t seen the movie yet, but I hear it’s just as good.
    Hhhmm … I’ll have to check out Jo Malone and Hands Free Mama.
    Some other of my favorite things in 2011?
    1. Sharpie Pens –not the markers, the pens! I use ’em all the time!
    1. Praying in Color — Discovered the book(s) of the same name (one for adults and one for children) and read them this summer with a friend and our daughters. Doing so broadened my prayer life. Now I’m following Sarah MacBeth’s blog too.

    Merry Christmas!

    • December 21, 2011 4:41 pm

      You’ve mentioned Praying in Color before…I’m doing to have to check that out in 2012. Maybe it’ll be on my faves list next year! Thanks for sharing! MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

  2. December 21, 2011 12:13 pm

    I want a pair of those Tom’s shoes! They are so cute, and I love that they give a pair to someone in need when you buy a pair!

    Favorite things in 2011 … my running tights and my Nike Sports band! They have both been a huge help with my running! Also, my Calphalon pans because I use them practically every day! 🙂

  3. Corrie permalink
    December 21, 2011 1:42 pm

    I do believe that 2 of the things on the list are because of your fabulous sisters! Not sure if that is good or bad 😉 And…I am putting my request in early for the Cheesecake, sure would be yummy for Christmas day! I would also like to thank you for sharing Hands Free Mama’s blog, everytime I read it a new lesson is learned (or re-learned).

    • December 21, 2011 4:43 pm

      No, definitely good!! Where would I be without my Burt Bees??? I should have given you credit for discovering this treasure!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. What in the World Wednesday? « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

