Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

January 2, 2012

Happy New Year!

As you say goodbye to 2011, how were you blessed this past year? In some ways, the last year for me seemed very difficult; however, in other ways, it was a year of immense spiritual growth and blessings of being together with family and friends.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Do you have resolutions for the upcoming year of 2012? What things would you like to change in your life? What goals would you like to achieve?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

As I was thinking about goals for the next year for me personally, in my freelance work, in my marriage, in parenting, and with my family, the Holy Spirit reminded me that I should not have goals of better financial gain, more business success, and so forth. My only goal for each year should be drawing closer to God and discovering His will for my life. In a quiet, reflective moment, God gently brought the following two verses to mind:

ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.” (Psalm 42:1)
  • “Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness.” (Matthew 6:33)
ANY CHARACTER HERE

I will need to be reminded (and possibly smacked upside the head) with these verses this year. I’ll need to continuously ask myself …

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Is my goal to know Christ?

Is my desire to do His will?

Am I worried about what others think or what God thinks?

Am I doing what God has set forth for me to do each day? Even if it’s not on my to-do list?

Am I too consumed with the frivolous daily duties of life or am I soaking up God’s perfect love and grace?

Am I showing God’s redemptive love to others?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

This is my prayer for 2012. What’s your prayer?

ANY CHARACTER HERE
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

