Skip to content

Cookin’ with Kristy!

January 13, 2012

Do you remember my friend, Kristy? She’s the one who cooks really well (always a good trait to have in a friend). And when she gets adventurous in the kitchen … well, you just never know what she may concoct! Her last post on Witty Words was in July 2011, “Kristy’s Kitchen.” She talked about making homemade almond milk (yes, I am serious) and mentioned wanting to attempt homemade pop-tarts. Well, the response to her post was HUGE and many requested MORE, MORE, MORE from my creative friend. So … your wishes are granted. Here for her second guest post is KRISTY!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

.  .  .

 

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Today was the day … the long-awaited attempt at making homemade pop-tarts had finally arrived. I have wanted to try these ever since I found the recipe a year ago! Christi had asked me on a few occasions, “Made those pop-tarts yet?” I always sheepishly answered, “No … not yet,” with my head hung in shame. But with everything, there is a story. Here’s mine …

ANY CHARACTER HERE

The story started when I found a homemade pop-tart recipe. I thought it sounded fun to try! Even though I can’t remember the last time I’ve had a true pop-tart in the house, I was intrigued by trying my hand at a homemade version. But the more I thought about it, the more I thought, “Well, if I’m going through the trouble of making healthier pop-tarts, I can’t just put any old processed jelly inside of them!” Thus, my quest began. I took it upon myself to make homemade apple butter. No preservatives there! I thought this would be the perfect filling for my tarts. But then I needed a $20 tool to help me puree the apples. Oh, well, it is for the health of my family! Hmmm … I also needed the glass jars to can the butter in, and I can’t forget the rings to top off the jars. So about $35 later, I had the filling for the silly little pastry … just the FILLING!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Let’s fast forward to the actual baking day. I had to make them this particular day, as I was down to my last few jars of apple butter. I couldn’t stand knowing this expensive apple butter I created wasn’t even used for its intended purpose! So I announced to my 2- and 4-year-old boys, “We’re making pop-tarts!” They weren’t impressed: “Popcorn?” They didn’t even know what a pop-tart was! Great … no appreciation for what I wanted to attempt. But as the flour jar and food processor found its way on the counter, their eyes lit up. They knew when Mommy brought these things out, it was time for creating!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I pulled my last batch of little tarts out of the oven. The house smelled like apple pie, and my boys were asking when they can eat one! We sat down at the table with one very warm pop-tart on a plate in front of us. This was just a little pre-lunch snack. Their excitement was evident as I broke the steaming pastry open and the expensive apple butter oozed out of the center. Each boy begged for a bite, and my heart overflowed with happiness as I know this wasn’t just a pop-tart, this was a memory. A time of working together, creating something completely ridiculous … just because we can. Thank You, Lord, for each precious little moment you give me with my children.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Oh, but please don’t tell my husband that this “box” of pop-tarts cost me over $40!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

My boys, Christian and Jameson, watch Mommy mix the dough
for our pop-tarts!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Preparing the dough, which consists of a mixture of whole wheat/white flour, salt, butter, and yogurt. I bet if you read the ingredients on a box of store-bought tarts, you’d find more than 4 ingredients!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

This is an amazing little tool I found at Goodwill. It’s from Pampered Chef, and it cost me only $3! I was THRILLED when I found this, as it cuts and seals the tarts together. I first used it to cut the circles. Then I placed one cut circle on top of an already cut circle with jam on it. I pressed down on the plunger on top, and it sealed the two pieces of dough together. So clever and makes for a perfect looking tart!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

The boys are just taking it all in … and starting to think they may like these new pop-tart things mom keeps talking about!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

The dough has been rolled and circles cut. I spread a small amount of apple butter or organic blueberry jam on each circle. But I think I used too little. Next time I’ll put an even bigger blob of butter/jam on (oh, and I bet PB&J would be yummy, too)!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

 The finished product! After I pulled them from the oven, I spread melted butter over them and sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar. YUMMY!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 9:44 am

    I’m getting hungry for tarts!

    • January 14, 2012 10:01 am

      Me, too…but I want a whole lot more jam in the middle! Maybe a glop of icing on top, too! 🙂

  2. January 13, 2012 2:18 pm

    Yum!! Feel free to ship some of those up to Ohio! 😉

  3. Nikki permalink
    January 13, 2012 7:26 pm

    i’d like to try this. Can we get the recipe?

Leave a Reply

