Skip to content

What in the World Wednesday?

January 25, 2012

Previously, I posted links to meal planning. Has anybody started planning? I’ve planned the last two weeks, and while my family is probably grateful for the yummy meals—and they even like a new recipe I tried!—I’ve still had to go to the grocery store several times a week. I guess I need more practice in meal planning to cut down my trips (and my spending). Do you meal plan? If you have any tips, please comment below!

Now … onto this week’s great links!

ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • January is the perfect time to hope, wish, and pray for snow days (unless you live in Florida, like me). But what do you do with all the kids stranded in the house? “Rainy Day Activities” by Tricia Goyer features 10 ideas to keep your kids entertained indoors.  
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • “Girlfriends in God” is a non-denominational ministry that equips women in their spiritual journey. If you need encouragement, wisdom, and inspiration every day, sign up for their daily devotions.
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
    • I’ve either edited or written curriculum for preteens for about 10 years, so the age group of 9- to 12-year-olds has always been special to me. Oftentimes, this age group is called “tween,” because they are not quite teenagers but no longer children. I was so excited to have found the site, B’twixt & B’tween, a site that is “part blog, part community, part Bible study, part activity guide, part resource section, and part group therapy for moms of tweenage daughters!” If you have a daughter who is between girlhood and womanhood, you must check it out!
ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • Is it too early for Valentine’s Day crafts? Not when they are this cute!
    My Blessed Life is featuring these “Homemade Valentine’s Ideas.” Be sure to bookmark this site, as it’ll feature a lot more Valentine’s Day projects over the next few weeks!
ANY CHARACTER HERE
4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 4:42 pm

    I meal plan for the week, but sometimes it gets tricky because I don’t know how many leftovers to count on! I might THINK I’m going to have enough leftovers for me and B for both lunch and dinner the next day, but then I’m surprised when I realize there’s only enough for lunch! And then we end up with PB & J for dinner the next night instead haha! 😉

    I try to only go to the store once a week, but when Brandon is home, that boy goes through Life cereal and milk like it’s going out of style! So sometimes I have to stop again to replenish his stash! 😛

    • January 30, 2012 9:05 am

      I know what you mean about the leftovers. It’s hard to plan it perfectly. And then sometimes ordering pizza just sounds better! 🙂

  2. February 2, 2012 9:26 am

    I think it would take part woman, part super-hero to meal plan for a family that includes children. Meal planning for me is pretty simple because I just eat the same things over and over and over…

    I would like to try freezer cooking (is that an oxymoron?), as I think that would help add variety to my meals throughout the week. The Money Saving Mom blog has a nice freezer cooking and meal planning section that might be helpful.

    • February 2, 2012 11:47 am

      It takes a lot of organization and planning, which is why I haven’t mastered it yet! 🙂 I do freeze a lot. I’ll double a recipe and freeze half. Soups (like chili) and pasta dishes (like lasagna) work well for that. A lot of others have mentioned that website, too. I’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

