Skip to content

The Moment When

February 15, 2012
tags:

Do you remember the moment when you fell in love with your spouse?

My husband and I have been together for 19 years—since we were 17 years old! We had barely started dating when we celebrated our first Valentine’s Day together. I made him cookies (his mom told me a way to a man’s heart is always through his stomach!) and I’ve been making him cookies or cupcakes on February 14th ever since. Because we were high school sweethearts, we often like to reminisce about those early days. After watching the movie, “Crazy, Stupid, Love,” we talked about “soul mates” and how we knew we were each other’s soul mate.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I knew Matt was my soul mate the moment when it felt like he had been my best friend forever. Sounds strange for a 17-year-old to think, but it’s true. We were at a youth group event and had been playing a game. We high-fived, then hugged, and it was this surreal moment when I knew he was the one because it felt like I had already known him for a lifetime.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Matt says he knew I was the girl for him when he came to my house for the first time. He got lost on the way and ended up in the next town. When he finally found my obscure country road, he went down a long lane toward a log cabin, getting stuck in the snow all the way. He was met by a man with a long beard and a shot gun pointed right at him! Wrong house! When he finally found my house, he was still a half hour early. (Good thing I was ready!) We watched “Beauty and the Beast” and even held hands for the first time, I think! Matt figured that I must be his soul mate if he went through getting lost, nearly being shot, and enduring a Disney film just for a girl.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

What is your “moment when”? Do you remember the exact moment you fell in love with your husband or wife? Is your spouse still your best friend and soul mate?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

John 1:35 says, “By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” God is the creator of love—He is love. If we love Him, we must love one another.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

But sometimes junk gets in the way (life, kids, jobs, etc.) and you get in a “funk.” After dating for 7 years and being married for 12, I can testify to that—it happens to everybody. But am I letting the junk overtake my life, or am I letting love rule? It’s easy to get into a funk; it’s much harder to be intentional about getting out of it and back on track with your spouse.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

If you didn’t spend a few moments on Valentine’s Day, take a few moments today or later this week and talk with your spouse. Ask: “When did you first fall in love with me? How did you know I was your soul mate?” Share your answers, too! Exposing your heart and hearing your spouse share his heart brings you closer together, kicks out the funk, and embraces the love that God desires for your marriage. And … it gives you a few laughs along the way, too! (Like talking about the hairdo I sported back in 1993!)

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

ANY CHARACTER HERE

(If you’re looking for “What in the World Wednesday?” check out Monday’s special Valentine edition!)

Photo Source

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 12:41 pm

    Love is definately like a roller coaster – the high’s – high —- the lows – low
    During tough times we “feel” those sick to your stomach feelings and we enter the room, pasting the walls with our stinky thoughts.

    Remembering love always thinks the best, immersing in the Word and remembering the “high-lights” will bring the two of you back to love which “always trusts, always hopes and always perserveres

    Striving to stay in the “Love Room” instead of the (stinky room) Remembering we are the ones who have the key to our thoughts – its up to us to open the right door – knowing God is before us and behind us cheering us on!

    My husband and I have been together for almost 39 years – we’ve both used the keys to the wrong door but always found our way out and continued to open the door towards “growing love”

    Up and downs; Yes! But, oh, the door to love is God’s Gift!

    God Bless
    susie

  2. February 16, 2012 1:23 am

    Getting to this post late … but so glad I read it.
    So many memories coming back. It’s good to take time to remember the falling in love, the staying in love … thanks for the encouragement.
    Now to go ask my husband some questions.
    And share some memories.
    🙂

  3. February 18, 2012 7:56 pm

    Aw, I love your stories! Terry and I were high school sweethearts as well ~ I was 15, and he was 16 when we started dating. To be honest, I knew I would marry him before we even started dating! This is an odd thought for a 15 year old to have, but at that time I was actually hesitant to start dating him because I knew I would eventually marry him, and I wasn’t sure that I was ready to commit myself to that forever relationship yet. He still isn’t sure that he believes that story, but I absolutely swear that it’s the truth!

    He has told me that he first was interested in dating me because I was always so friendly and outgoing in youth group, and passing out hugs as hellos and good-byes. As for when he knew he wanted to marry me, I don’t know ~ I shall have to find out though!

    • February 19, 2012 2:56 pm

      Definitely find out his answer and let me know! 🙂 My husband and I met in youth group, too! I’ll never forget it…we seemed so young, but now I can’t imagine life without him.

Leave a Reply

