Skip to content

Shade Trees

March 2, 2012

This weekend I am so honored to be a part of a President’s Weekend with David Jeremiah in Boca Raton, Florida. I am attending with my mom, while my wonderful hubby is taking care of the kiddos (thanks, honey!). It’s going to be a wonderful time of fellowship with new friends, teaching from God’s Word, praise and worship, and a little bit of relaxing, too.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Tonight’s entertainment was Dennis Swanberg, who is considered to be America’s “Minister of Encouragement.” I think he’s just downright hysterical! And so did everyone else in the room, as our sides hurt from belly laughing for an hour.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Dennis talked about “shade trees.” Who has been your shade tree in your life? Who are the people who have given you foundation, watered your life, and influenced you to grow?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I can think of people who are family—my grandfather, my mother, my great aunt. I can also think of people who were like family to me, such as my high school youth group leaders. There are others who I don’t know personally but who had an impact on my life—TV stars I watched growing up (Michael Landon) or singers who I wanted to be just like (Barbara Mandrell).

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Everybody has a shade tree, and every body’s shade tree is different; there are no two alike. Perhaps a person planted a shade tree in your life but did not get to see it grow. Perhaps you are planting a shade tree for somebody else right now. You may be seeing that person flourish into a beautiful life. Or you may not get to experience the fruit of your labor, but you can be confident of the seeds you planted.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Reflect on the shade trees in your life. Determine to be a shade tree
for someone else!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.” (Psalm 1:3, NIV)

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:8, NIV)

ANY CHARACTER HERE
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki :) permalink
    March 2, 2012 12:39 pm

    Have a great time! Tell your mom hello from stormy Ohio!

Trackbacks

  1. Golden Nuggets of Truth « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

