Skip to content

My Favorite Chair

March 26, 2012

The chair above is my favorite chair. It’s in our “front room” that nobody actually uses. Which is a good thing, because it’s the first room that you enter from the front door, so it gives the appearance that my house is clean. In reality, I don’t let anyone use the room, and it generally stays in-tact. (Unlike the rest of the house, which looks like two little tornadoes blew through.)

ANY CHARACTER HERE

But just because it’s pretty and clean is not the reason it’s my favorite.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

It’s my favorite because it’s my “Jesus meeting chair.” Upon this butter-yellow holy ground is where I curl up to meet Jesus. I pray, plead, thank, and listen to Him there on most mornings. For that reason, I love this chair. It represents the calmest place in my life. It’s the only place I can draw my feet up, lay my head on the arm rest, and feel that I am in the palm of His hand. I’m able to crawl into my Father’s lap. If I don’t start my day right here, my agenda is likely to go downhill very, very quickly—because it is my will, not His. On days I meet Jesus, my will becomes His will; my steps are numbered by Him; my agenda becomes His plan. When I miss my appointment (which honestly happens more often than I like to happen—and more often than I’d like to admit), my selfishness, stubbornness, impatience, and pride take over what could have been a peaceful, calm, God-ordained day.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Upon this chair I read His Word.

Pray His will be done.

Intercede for protection upon my children.

Beg for my eyes, ears, heart, and mind to be open to His plan and purposes.

Sing praises of thanksgiving.

Mumble “Thank You, Jesus” for abundant blessings.

Become still to listen.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I love this chair. Do you have a favorite spot where you meet with God on a regular basis? For years I didn’t understood the “prayer closet” concept. But now I understand that your “closet” doesn’t have to be a dark, cramped spot. It can be a plush cushion, a leather recliner, a rumpled bed, a grassy knoll, or garden bench. Wherever you meet Jesus is your prayer closet and your Holy Ground.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“The place where you are standing is holy ground.” (Exodus 3:5)

“In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.” (Psalm 5:3)

ANY CHARACTER HERE
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki :) permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:13 am

    Love it! I need that chair!

  2. March 28, 2012 7:27 am

    Honestly, I do not have a special place where I meet with Jesus. Unfortunately, and I so hate to admit this, I often struggle to prioritize my meeting time with Him. This has been so very on my mind lately, and actually just yesterday I was starting to envision where and what a place in my home would look like that I regularly come to for that purpose. I absolutely believe that my days would be less turbulent if my times with God were more intentional and regular.

    • March 28, 2012 11:05 am

      Don’t be afraid to admit it, because ALL of us struggle with that. I’ve never met one person who doesn’t struggle with it, at least. I posted that on Monday, and I’ve yet to keep my “appointment” at all this week! I love it so much when I do–I feel so at peace and can feel God in me. But it’s so hard to get out of bed in the morning or to think how I can spare those 15 minutes of not doing something on my to-do list. Awful perspective, I know! I love my yellow chair b/c I can get comfy in it, close my eyes, and really feel like I am sitting in His lap. Try to find a comfy spot in your home and make it meaning ful for you and God. Let me know if you do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

