Skip to content

A “Bad” Good Friday

April 2, 2012

Jesus’ last words upon the cross have been read and studied and examined for the last 2,000 years. His day of crucifixion—now called “Good Friday”—was not a “good” day for many. His mother wept at his blood-stained feet; his disciples stood bewildered; God’s Son was crucified. As the pain and sins of the world were heaped upon His broken body, Jesus spoke 7 times upon the cross.

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

“Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”

“I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.”

“Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.”

“Dear woman, here is your son … here is your mother.”

“I am thirsty.”

“It is finished.”

ANY CHARACTER HERE

How many of these utterances were about Jesus Himself? How many were focused on His Heavenly Father and on others?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I think you would agree that the majority (perhaps 5 out of 7) of the times Jesus spoke as He died, He spoke to God, about God and His plan, or to others.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Never will any of us experience a day like the day of Jesus’ crucifixion. Our worst days are a glorious celebration in comparison to “Good” Friday. Good? The most heinous death in eternity can be called “good”? Only because we know the outcome. We are on the other side looking back. It’s good because it was necessary. Necessary for our sins to be redeemed; necessary for grace to be abundant for all; necessary for us to have eternal life.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

However, we—the redeemed, the grace receivers, the recipients of eternal life—still have bad days. Horrible, no good, terrible days. Days where everything goes wrong. Days we could punch something (or someone). Days where we lose our temper, lose all hope, lose our sanity.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

On those bad days, what are we focused on? What do we think and speak? Is the majority about God and others … or about ourselves?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

I’m pretty sure that if the majority of what we thought and spoke on those days were about God and others instead of 100% on ourselves, the day just might not be so bad.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

After all, we are still on this side of the cross. And we know the last chapter of this life. We are the ones who have been REDEEMED. Who have received GRACE. Who will enjoy ETERNAL LIFE.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

So looking back … perhaps your “bad” day is “good” after all.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves to God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 6:22-23)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 8:26 am

    I wouldn’t be able to get out of bed, let alone blog about Mia’s passing, without God in my life. He’s been carrying me through this horrible time in my life and giving me the strength I need for my family. The day after Mia went home, my wife asked me why He didn’t breathe life back into her baby. I told her that we can’t know that. As hard as it was, I told her we needed to trust that God has a plan for everything that happens in our life. I also told her that He could have breathed life back into His Son while He was on the cross, but that His plan was needed for our salvation. I hope this reinforces your point a little bit. He is the same today, yesterday and tomorrow. And His hope and promise is eternal. Blessings to you for the wonderful post…

    • April 2, 2012 9:37 pm

      Blessings to you, dear friend, for even being able to write these beautiful words. Your faith is more than amazing to me; your courage is more than incredible. I praise God for allowing me to meet you through blogging, if only for the privilege of being able to pray for you, your wife, and your family. Hold on to HIS promise, for it is eternal, and you will have eternity with your precious Mia. Praying, praying, praying for you…God bless you…

  2. April 2, 2012 11:43 am

    Beautiful Christi!
    thank you for the wonderful reminders
    God Bless
    susie

  3. April 3, 2012 4:25 pm

    A character of humility and greatness is shown in Jesus’ life here on earth. By following His example, we too can be people of character. We are unfortunately weak in a way that when things go wrong, we allow frustration to get the better of us and we scream our feelings out, mostly ungodly words.
    May God bless u dear blogger for this blog, and may His peace flow in your life. He is with you, all the way.

  4. Susan DiMickele permalink
    April 3, 2012 10:34 pm

    My kids refer to Good Friday as “a sad and happy day.” I think we got that from a children’s book. It’s so true — so many emotions wrapped up in one day that changed history forever. I just wrote my Good Friday post and I have chills. Good and bad chills.

Leave a Reply

