Skip to content

A Glorious Gift

April 9, 2012

Joseph of Arimathea gave a man he loved the only gift he could.

Joseph was a “prominent member of the Council, who was himself waiting for the kingdom of God” (Mark 15:43).

He was a “rich man” and a “disciple of Jesus” (Matthew 27:57).

He was apparently a strong man and hard worker, as he himself cut a tomb out of rock (Matthew 27:60).

He was a bold man, for he went to Pilate and asked for Jesus’ dead body (Mark 15:43).

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Joseph’s teacher and friend, his Lord and Savior was crucified, his body broken and barely unrecognizable.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

What could he do for Jesus now? How could he possibly show his love for this dead man?

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Joseph of Arimathea gave Jesus the only thing he could give: an empty tomb.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Along with Nicodemus, he wrapped Jesus’ body with spices and strips of linen in order to follow Jewish burial customs (John 19:39-40). Then Joseph walked away; he left his friend in a dark tomb.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Joseph gave all he could for his Savior.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

However, God used Joseph’s gift, his dark tomb, for something more … something much more.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

On Sunday, the cave of death turned into the cave of resurrection.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Darkness turned into light.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Death became life.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

God raised Jesus from the dead. Out of the tomb, He arose!

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Although it was dark and cold, a place for death and decay, Joseph of Arimathea gave the only gift he could give.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

God is the One who turned dark and cold, death and decay into resurrected life.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

What gift do you have for your Savior? You may think your gift is not worthy. But you are wrong. Whatever you give, God turns it into light and life.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Joseph was wealthy, a prominent man. All he had was an empty tomb.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Whoever you are … whatever your position … no matter how small, how minuscule, how unimportant your gift seems to you, God turns it into something useable, something glorious, something everlasting.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

Let God take your gift—even if it’s a dark, cold tomb filled with death and decay—and make it beautiful, for His purpose, for His glory.

ANY CHARACTER HERE

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights.” (James 1:17)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Kerth permalink
    April 10, 2012 12:21 pm

    Another incredible post. Love.

  2. April 10, 2012 4:24 pm

    This is beautiful, Christi. I often battle with “am I giving enough to God?” You remind me that when I write the messages He places on my heart, for the world to read, that is a gift to Him. He turns my little old posts into something that heals people’s hearts and brings them closer to HIm. I just learned I was nominated for the Denman Evangelism Award. It was not about getting an award that brought me to tears, it was that my pastor, who nominated me, thought of my work in such a light. I saw it as a divine sign that I am on the right path, HIs path, and that is the only path that matters. Thank you for the comfort and peace your writing brings. His words speak through your writing to me. Thank you!

    Rachel
    http://www.handsfreemama.com

    • April 11, 2012 10:22 am

      Rachel, thanks for saying my writing brings comfort and peace, because that is my prayer. I think we are a lot alike in that God gives us words, and we doubt what we pour out from our hearts. But it’s only encouraging to others because HE makes it so. Every day I battle whether I am “good enough” or whether I am “doing enough.” But God has to remind me over and over that it’s only because of Him that anything or anybody can be “good.” All that matters is our offering, our gift that He can take and breathe life into. P.S. CONGRATS on the award! Love you, my friend!

      • April 11, 2012 2:09 pm

        So beautifully stated, Christi! God truly provides you with His wisdom, and I am blessed you can “translate” so much of it to me. Love you, too!

  3. April 11, 2012 2:01 am

    So glad you posted on my FB wall so I could find your blog – what a blessing you are! I love this post and can’t wait to read more! Blessings, Kelly

    • April 11, 2012 10:25 am

      Kelly, thank you so much! I absolutely love your site–the design is beautiful! So glad we could “meet” and share with one another. On Wednesdays, I post my favorite links that I’ve been reading, so I’m sure I’ll be sharing some of yours! Thanks for all the yummy recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

