Skip to content

One Faith, One God, Unique Relationships

April 16, 2012

Your faith. My faith.

How can Christians have such different relationships with God, yet it be “one faith”?

Ephesians 4:4-6 says: “There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to one hope when you were called—one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all” (NIV).

Let’s look at it this way …

My children have the same father. Mary-Allison was born first, so she’s known Daddy for longer. There are things she has discovered about her Daddy that Mia didn’t discover until later; perhaps Mia hasn’t even discovered some things yet. Dad disciplines the two girls differently. Mary-Allison is a “rule follower” and only needs a stern look from Daddy in order to straighten up. Mia needs more guidance … a few discipline tricks, such as time-outs or spankings in order to understand and change her behavior. The girls receive love from Daddy differently: Mary-Allison likes to cuddle, watch her favorite TV shows together, and have breakfast dates; Mia is a great hugger (but doesn’t sit still long enough to cuddle!), loves to play games together, and enjoys shopping. Daddy loves both girls equally—as much as someone can possibly love! But his relationship with each one is different and unique.

The same is true of our Heavenly Father. Each person comes to know God at different times in various ways. Each of us discovers characteristics about God throughout our journeys. Perhaps you have learned something amazing about God that I have not yet learned. The Father teaches us all differently, according to our gifts and personalities. He disciplines us differently—some of us need a little more guidance, training, and discipline; others just a gentle reminder. Some of us experience God’s love through a beautiful sunset or a soft rain; others through the power of music or dynamic sermon or a friend’s embrace. God loves us all with an unconditional love that is beyond our comprehension.

We are all one-of-a-kind, different, fearfully and wonderfully made. Even so, we have one faith in one God.

Although God loves us differently and each of us has a unique relationship with Him, He is never changing. He is always the same … yesterday, today, forever.

  • “I the LORD do not change.” (Malachi 3:6)
  • “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebrews 13:8)
  • “But you remain the same, and your years will never end.” (Psalms 102:27)

God is the one true God, and believers have one faith in Him. Although we, His people, are all different, each enjoying a unique relationship with Him, God is never changing!

What is your favorite thing about your relationship with God? How has your relationship grown or changed over time?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 7:53 am

    I love those moments when I sense God shaking his head with a smile and saying “oh, that Renee”. I enjoy the sense of acceptance and wanting nothing more than to receive His smile! Awesome post!

    • April 17, 2012 9:42 am

      Just like a child yearns for mommy and daddy’s smile and love and hugs, we too yearn for that from our Heavenly Father! 🙂

  2. April 16, 2012 10:34 am

    I agree with Ree! I love those moments when I sense God laughing with me and enjoying my company just as much as I enjoy His company.
    But, oh, my stubborness and pride gets in my way and God helps me deal “with it” – I’d rather have the fun times with the Lord and bask in His loving embrace but I still get the “go to your room”, even as old as I am.
    Yes, it hurts but when I’m in my room I pull out the Bible to draw God near once again
    Love the post
    God Bless
    susie

    • April 17, 2012 9:41 am

      Amazing how we all deal with stubburness and pride! Sometimes I feel like a dog with its tail between its legs, knowing its in trouble but wanting so badly to be loved again! Except God loves us unconditionally through it all!

  3. April 16, 2012 6:17 pm

    I love this! What a simple and neat way to think about our different relationships with our Father. My relationship with God has been growing like crazy lately, as I’m becoming more willing to let Him in and let Him lead. And trust that the good and the bad are all parts of His grace for me.

    • April 16, 2012 8:24 pm

      I love it! You are so right–letting Him lead is the key, because He wants to because He knows what’s best for us. But we gotta get outta the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

