Skip to content

Snapshot of Life

April 20, 2012

There are some moments, as a mother, that I want to scream until I lose my voice, guzzle a gallon of wine, or run away to a deserted island for forever and ever.

Then there are moments that I call “snapshots of life.” Where I gaze at my girls and all of time comes to a halt for one, brief moment. Where all of the difficulties, trials, frustrations, and exhaustion of parenthood are completely forgotten and pure joy abounds.

This picture is a snapshot of life.

This is Mia, meticulously and methodically combing her hair until every single strand is perfectly in place. She’s 4 years old. She goes to preschool.

For a moment that seemed like an eternity, I starred at her beauty, her childhood innocence, her pure and happy heart, and I knew the next few years would fly by like a flash of lightening. I would soon be starring at her again as she combed her hair, perfecting it to attend prom. A date with her boyfriend. Her high school graduation.

So for this brief but beautiful moment, I embraced all her essence. I studied her face, her profile, her back, her porcelain doll-like face. I wanted to passionately burn this memory into my brain forever.

It was a snapshot of life.

What snapshots of life do you treasure?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Kerth permalink
    April 20, 2012 7:12 am

    Beautiful.

  2. April 20, 2012 9:08 am

    Awesome post! And definitely a reminder that I needed to do!! Love you guys!

    • April 20, 2012 11:32 am

      You will have so many more snapshots with Baby Brooklyn! And growing your family to 4, too! 🙂

  3. April 20, 2012 10:50 am

    What a precious moment!

    • April 20, 2012 11:33 am

      Thank you! I’ll have to come back to this post on the days she is ornery and driving me nuts! 🙂

  4. April 20, 2012 2:37 pm

    Cherish EVERY snapshot, Christi. I have the memories (snapshots) of our Mia etched into my mind, and they will have to carry me through until I’m reunited with her. Whenever those “I want to pull my hair out and scream” moments come, take a step back and look at the picture you posted. If that doesn’t calm your anxiety, I’m not sure what will. She’s a BEAUTIFUL little girl. Blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

