Skip to content

Sick Days

April 27, 2012

I’ve got a sick little girl home from school. My kindergartener has strep throat. Again. For the third time. Darn school germs.

But I’ll admit—I kind of love having sick kids. I mean … I hate when they are sick. Absolutely hate the feeling that I am not in control and no matter what I do, I cannot “fix” anything. But I love the cuddling, snuggling, and extra love that comes with staying home sick.

Plus, our household initiates the “no rules” rule. That means, all rules are out the window. When you are a sick child in our house …

  • You get to sleep with Mommy and Daddy. (Or you get to sleep with Mommy and Daddy gets the couch. Sorry, honey.)
  • You get all the ice cream and popsicles you want.
  • You can watch TV and movies all day.
  • You don’t have to eat your veggies.
  • You don’t have to do your chores.
  • All housework gets put on hold (except for anything “germy” that needs washed).
  • There is no cooking—only takeout is acceptable.
  • All deadlines are missed. Yep, even work gets put on hold.

Sick days are an all-out rest-and-get-better-cuddle-fest. Nothing else matters; we indulge in things we otherwise restrict; we spend all of our time loving, snuggling, and serving one another.

Maybe it’s a lesson we need to learn every other day of the year: putting less emphasis on housework and deadlines and more emphasis on loving one another.

Or perhaps it’s the reason my kids are often sick!

What “rules” do you throw out the window when you
or your kiddos are sick?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. erinschaffner permalink
    April 27, 2012 8:41 am

    I want to come to your house when I’m sick!

    • April 27, 2012 8:50 am

      You should!! I’d have mint chocolate chip ice cream just for you! Too bad Mommy doesn’t get this treatment when I’M sick!

  2. November 14, 2012 1:50 pm

    I actually like sick days b/c I get to stay home, too! For a working mama, that’s a bonus. We snuggle and watch cartoons, and everybody naps! Woot!

    • November 14, 2012 2:12 pm

      I hear ya! We’ve already watched plenty of SpongeBob and a Lalaloopsy movie, plus Tom & Jerry. 😉

Leave a Reply

