Skip to content

Are You Running Your Race?

May 11, 2012

I’m not a runner, but I understand the metaphor of life being a marathon. Many times I attack life like a sprint. But by the end of the day, I’m exhausted and drained and no farther ahead than if I’d kept a slow, steady pace.

God gives us each a race to run. However, I often gaze upon another runner and think I want to run like her; I want to be in that race! I become envious of the path others are on. I’m jealous of the success of fellow writers, the books they get published, the scores of people following their blogs … the list goes on.

But when I look upon the journey God gave someone else, then I stumble and fall upon the dusty lane of my life. God says, “I put YOU in THIS race. Run the race I gave you. Run with endurance until the end!”

When I look longingly into another’s life path and feel jealousy, envy, greed, or even resentment, I’m basically telling God, “You got it all wrong. What you gave me isn’t good enough—I want that. You don’t know what You are doing.” That is the sin that entangles and hinders us from running the race God specifically designed for us.

Keep your eyes on the road—the road specially marked for you by God Himself. When you keep your eyes on Jesus and not on your fellow marathon runners, you will indeed finish and finish strong!

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith.” (Hebrews 12:1-3, NIV)

Photo Source 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2012 7:01 am

    Thank you, Christi. I really needed that this morning.

  2. May 11, 2012 10:27 am

    Morning Christi
    My husband used to work with a man named Perfecto Garcia
    I have gotten in the habit of saying : Perfecto Garcia when I appreciate something someone has done for me

    In reality, I prefer the Perfecter – what a comfort to have faith in the one true Perfect God, Perfect Jesus and Perfect Spirit of God

Trackbacks

  1. Lessons Learned from Blogging (Plus, Winners Announced!) « Witty Words
  2. Start Being a “Tooter” Today! « Witty Words

Leave a Reply

