Skip to content

Sacrifice? I Don’t Wanna!

May 14, 2012

SACRIFICE

Sounds spiritual, holy, and righteous … until God asks you to sacrifice.

In Genesis 22 God asked Abraham to sacrifice his son as a burnt offering. Most of us gasp at this. How could God ask this of Abraham, after the years and years of yearning for a child? But that’s not how Abraham responded. Verse 3 says he obeyed God immediately and without question; in fact, he got up “early the next morning” to begin the journey of sacrifice. God asked Abraham to sacrifice something he held most dear: his child … the child God gave him.

God has asked me to sacrifice something. Something I love, something I’ve known and done for many years, something I do well and find great joy in, something that is safe and secure, something that even tells others about Jesus. But God has said to sacrifice something that I hold most dear so that He can replace the sacrifice, so He can be the thing I hold most dear, so that He can take me to new levels of faith.

“But God, I don’t wanna!” (Insert grown woman whining.) “Please … I love it.”

God directed me to Genesis 22:2: “Then God said, ‘Take your son, your only son, Isaac, whom you love … and sacrifice him as a burnt offering.’ ”

Through His Word, God demonstrated His knowledge of how dearly I love this sacrifice. “I know you love it, Child. But keep reading.”

Genesis 22:17-18: “I will surely bless you … all nations on earth will be blessed, because you have obeyed me.”

Okay, God … it’s Yours. This things I’ve held so tightly, that has kept me safe and secure is Yours. You give and You take away. I will no longer hold on so tightly to it; I’ll hold on tightly to You and only You. Please help me to obey when my inclination is not to; please use me to bless others.

What do you hold onto so tightly? Is God asking you to sacrifice something in order to draw you closer to Him? His purpose is to use you to bless others—even all the nations! His plan and purpose for you is beyond anything you can plan, imagine, or even dream of.

Sacrifice when and what God says. Be obedient, clinging only to Jesus. The reward? You and others will be blessed!

“If you fully obey the LORD your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations on earth. All these blessings will come upon you and accompany you if you obey the LORD your God”
(Deuteronomy 28:1-2, NIV)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

