Skip to content

Thank You for This BIG Day

July 2, 2012

My children are learning to pray their own prayers and discovering how to truly talk to God. But for the last few years, they repeated the same things in their prayers.

Dear God, thank You for our big day. Thank You for Mommy, Daddy, Mary-Allison, Mia, and Maxi. Thank you for our family. Amen.

Too often, because I know the words that are coming, I zone out during their memorized prayer. I always get caught on the “big day” part.

Big day? We didn’t have a big day. It was just an ordinary day. Fixing meals, washing dishes, putting away laundry, playing, working, reading books … an ordinary, typical day.

Then God gently speaks to me.

Not a big day? Did you wake up?

Well, yes.

Did you have breath to breathe?

Uh, yes.

Did you enjoy your children, who are healthy and happy?

Um, yes.

Did you get to be with your husband, the one I created you to be with?

Yes.

Did I provide for you? Were you protected in your home? Were you clothed? Are you going to bed with a fully belly? Are your bills paid? Do you have water, electricity, and indoor plumbing? A car that functions?

Yes, all of that … and more.

Did you partake in my beautiful creation? A sunrise, sunset? Birds chirping, butterflies fluttering, flowers budding? Did you watch the clouds move, the trees sway, and children laughing?

Actually, yes.

Then, I would say you had a big day. In fact, every day that you are alive, that I give you air to breathe is a big day. It is a big day because I am a big God.

Yes, Lord, Yes!

My children, every night thank God for the big day they had. In their childlike, simple prayer they taught me so much. Every day is a big day.

Are you having a big day today?

“You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.” (2 Corinthians 9:11)

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

Copyright 2012, Christi McGuire. All rights reserved.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 6:52 am

    LOVE this!! 🙂

  2. July 2, 2012 10:38 am

    Amen!!!

  3. Nikki permalink
    July 2, 2012 12:57 pm

    Awesome! Great reminder!

  4. July 2, 2012 11:22 pm

    Hello!
    I’m going to have a big day until all my big days are done
    I am blessed
    God Bless you and the family
    susie

Leave a Reply

