Skip to content

WWW: Honoring Aurora

July 25, 2012

If you are a regular reader, you know that on Wednesday I typically feature WWW, which is short for “What in the World Wednesday?” where I feature a bunch of awesome things from around the Web. I love to share the great recipes, crafts, devotionals, parenting tips, and all-around dynamic posts from others.

But today, in light of the tragedy in Aurora, Colorado, last week, I want to highlight three incredible posts that can help our country and our hearts heal. These have been passed around all the social media outlets, so you have probably seen them. One is written by someone not involved; one is written by someone who was in the theater that night; one is written by someone who knew one of the victims. All are absolute must reads!

Three different perspectives from three different believers with amazing messages to share …

“So You Still Think God Is a Merciful God?” @ A Miniature Clay Pot

Over a million people around the world have read this mom’s post about her experience in the theater that fateful night. Does she still believe in a good God? Absolutely! God is good; man is not. When man chooses to do evil, God can bring comfort and peace in the midst of that evil.

“A Miracle Inside the Aurora Shooting” @ Celtic Straits

When God works ahead of time for a particular event in the future, it is called prevenient grace. Because of a 22-year-old’s birth defect, her life was miraculously saved. Even doctors are in awe of God and His provisions.

“The Dark Knight Rises Indeed” @ Rod Arters

This was the first blog post that I read on Friday morning, and it’s one of the best posts I have ever read. People are going to try to find the reason behind this massacre—did the shooter experience ADHD or bullying or his parents’ divorce? None of that matters, because we all are capable of being the Dark Night … we all are created with a sinful heart. Only by the grace of God can we be used for greater good instead of evil.

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions.Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge. Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me. Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place. Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice. Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you. Save me from bloodguilt, O God, the God who saves me, and my tongue will sing of your righteousness. O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.” (Psalm 51: 1-15)

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

