Skip to content

Being Mommy Is Being Enough

August 17, 2012

As summer all too quickly comes to a close, we say goodbye to sleeping in, snuggling while watching SpongeBob Squarepants, staying in our jammies until lunch, and forgetting about bedtimes.

Come Monday morning, it’s back to alarm clocks, car pools, routines, and homework.

But we have the memories of a good summer—one filled with lots of travel and lots of fun with family and friends.

Out of all of the memories, the ones my girls love most are the times spent doing something simple one-on-one with Mommy or Daddy.

Mommy, will you snuggle with me?

Daddy, will you play ping-pong with me?

Mommy, will you read this book with me?

Daddy, can I sit on your lap?

Mommy, can we bake banana bread?

It’s the simple things that make the best memories. Not extravagant gifts or vacations, but time spent together.

When a little girls asks me one of these questions in her sweet voice, I’m tempted to say, No, I can’t. I’ve got too much laundry to do. Dishes to wash. Floors to mop. Towels to fold. Later. We will later. This time, I promise.

But then I remember, it’s the snuggling, the playing, the reading, the
baking … the loving … that my kids will remember most.

More than trips to Disney World.

More than shopping sprees.

More than going to camp after camp after camp.

Kids yearn for love … for time together … for the simple things … for ME.

Just me.

Just Mommy.

Although I’m tempted to do more, to be more, to get more, I’m reminded by the simple fact that I’m Mommy.

And that’s enough.

For two little girls, that’s just what they want.

Now, excuse me … I’ve got one more weekend of cuddling to get back to!

“Each day of our lives we make deposits in the
memory banks of our children.”

 ~Charles R. Swindoll

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2012 8:38 am

    Good Morning
    You are making the right deposits
    Have a great weekend with your little snuggle bunnies
    God Bless

  2. August 17, 2012 8:48 am

    Beautiful message, Christi!

Leave a Reply

