Skip to content

Preparing for a Hurricane and Pursuing Dreams

August 27, 2012

Here we go again—preparing for another hurricane! Like Northerners preparing for the first snowfall, we are well experienced in making the necessary preparations for hurricanes. When we moved to Florida in 2004, we were quickly broken into becoming hurricane experts. That was the record-breaking year that five named storms made landfall in Florida: Hurricanes Charley, Frances, Ivan, and Jeanne, and Tropican Storm Bonnie.

Eight years later, my kids are experiencing their first hurricane with—what else?—a hurricane party! Schools are closed today, and we have plans to play in the rain, enjoy our hurricane party cake (we celebrate any occasion with cake!), and have fun playing board games by candlelight.

Please pray for all those in the path of Hurricane Isaac and in proximity of the outer bands that bring dangerous wind and rain.

“For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you
in all your ways.” (Psalm 91:11, NIV)

Now … a quick announcement for you wonderful and faithful followers of Witty Words. God has been magnificent in the last year and taught me many, many things through this journey of writing my blog. One of the best things to come out of it has been getting to know fellow believers all around the world! Some of you may remember a post a while back where I shared pursuing my dream of writing a book  manuscript. I’ve been on an incredible adventure—an adventure about being still! God is teaching me a lot about Psalm 46:10: “Be still and know that I am God.” The things He is showing me and teaching me through His Word is coming out in the form of a book manuscript that will hopefully be published one day.

But in order to continue my work on this, as well as my freelance work as a writer, editor, and publishing consultant, I need to scale back a bit and cut down somewhere in my life. Although I love blogging 4 times a week and enjoy writing devotional thoughts that encourage others, finding great links to share with “What in the World Wednesday,” and searching for inspirational pictures for “Wordless Weekend,” I can’t maintain that much blogging, plus being a full-time freelancer, mommy, wife, and devoted follower of Christ.

My plan is to blog 1-2 times a week. The posts will continue to be the same categories as always: devotional thoughts, tips for fellow writers/editors, inspirational posts for moms/women, “What in the World Wednesday?” and “Wordless Weekend.” I feel that if I’m cutting back a bit, I can perhaps bring better quality posts and engage more with you, dear friends and readers, through social media. I hope to connect more with you through Twitter (@ChristiMcGuire) and my Facebook Page. Please join me at both of those places. I’d love to chat with you! I’m also working on a new site, so stay tuned for more information on that!

I’d love for you to share comments, thoughts, and questions on this blog, through any of the social media sites, or by emailing me directly (christimcguire@christimcguire.com). If you have questions about my services, click on Speaking, Editing, Consulting, or Writing!

Thanks for following, and I’ll see ya real soon!

 Photo Source

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki permalink
    August 27, 2012 8:40 am

    Praying that you are safe through this storm. I am proud of your decision to go where God is leading you and spend more time on writing your book. It will touch so many lives as your blog is doing. You are in my prayers!

    • August 27, 2012 8:05 pm

      You are my prayer warrior, Nikki! Thanks for all your love, prayers, and support! I love you, friend!!

  2. August 27, 2012 9:23 am

    You go – Christi
    We all need to know when to cut back and when to take off
    Take off and fly!
    God Bless – we will be here whenever!
    susie

    • August 27, 2012 8:06 pm

      Susie, you are one of my biggest supporters and encouragers! I’m so glad we “met”! I’ll keep reminding myself: “Take off and fly”! 🙂

  3. August 27, 2012 8:24 pm

    I am glad my Florida friends and family are safe from the hurricane! It looks like you and the girls made the most of your “hurricane day” and no school!

    I am so excited to hear about your book and that you are pursuing your dreams. I know God has big plans for you, my friend. You are are skilled in so many ways and your knowledge in the writing/publishing field seems endless to me. I think you will be so glad you cut back to one post a week. I did that one year ago when I, too, wanted to free up my time to write a book proposal. Amazingly, my readership continued to grow and my writing seemed to improve since I was focusing only on one really great post a week. I cannot wait to see what is in store for you. I will be cheering you all the way!!!

    Much love!!!

    Rachel
    http://www.handsfreemama.com

    • August 27, 2012 9:41 pm

      Thanks, Rachel! I thought of you as I wrote that post! Although I really WANT to write 4 posts a week and love doing it, I feel God is calling me to cut back … that now is the time to get cranking on the book. He’s shown me so much in the last 2 years, and now it’s time to get it down on paper. For me, for Him, for others if He so chooses to bless in that way. Thanks for your encouragement! You know I’m one of your biggest fans! 😉

Leave a Reply

