Skip to content

God Doesn’t Live in a Box

September 10, 2012

I love Pinterest.

Oh, how I love it!

But at first, I was skeptical.

Like Facebook, Twitter, and all things new, I was skeptical of Pinterest. Who has time for that? How does it work? Why wouldn’t I just save it to a favorites folder online? What do I even “pin”?

But like Facebook, Twitter, and all things new … I figured it out, made it my own, became a loyal fan, and love it. Okay, okay, I am pretty addicted.

I think I love Pinterest so much because it brings out my inner control freak. It’s so organized. I make my own boards and can arrange them any way I want. I have a board for dessert recipes, pasta recipes, and breakfast recipes. I can choose to put a new idea under “DIY” or “Décor” or “Home.” I have found new cleaning methods, ways to organize, and fun projects for the girls to enjoy. All these wonderful new ideas fit very neatly and nicely onto my organized boards. I know where everything is. The boards are even alphabetized!

I like all things organized. Controlled. Nice. Neat. Alphabetized.

But real life isn’t like Pinterest, is it? Nothing in my life is as organized, controlled, nice, neat, and alphabetized as my Pinterest boards.

People get cancer. My kids get hurt. Finances take a plunge. Banks foreclose on homes. Hurricanes destroy towns. Churches split apart. Families argue.

Nothing about life is nice and neat … none of it fits into my little perfect, controlled box.

Don’t you just hate that sometimes?

It’s a good thing that God doesn’t fit into a box either.

God is mighty, powerful, awesome, omnipotent, and creator of all.

He doesn’t fit into any box.

When life gets out of control, He’s in control.

When life falls apart, He’s there to pick up the pieces.

When life brings heartache, pain, and disease, He’s there to heal, renew, and restore.

God is not limited. Boxes don’t restrain Him.

This control freak can breathe a sigh of relief.

I’m thankful our God doesn’t live in a box. How about you?

(But I still love Pinterest! How about you?)

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki permalink
    September 10, 2012 6:57 am

    So thankful He is bigger than that box!

  2. September 10, 2012 10:52 am

    I love Pinterest. I iron my cloth napkins and I LIKE it. But I’m glad God is bigger than all of that!

Leave a Reply

