Skip to content

Hiding God’s Word in the Hearts of Your Children

September 14, 2012

I am honored to have my friend, Lindsay Ramsey, as a guest today
to share with us how her family incorporates God’s Word
into their daily lives.

Swim Lessons. Haircuts. Escalators. These three things terrify my soon-to-be 4-year-old son, Drew, and we have dealt with all three over the last couple of weeks.

Earlier this summer, I was introduced to a wonderful resource from Children Desiring God. They have put together groups of verses for Scripture memory. Each set is geared toward a different age group. Because of the age of my children, we are using the “Foundation” verses. They are short verses that have a picture associated with them to aid in memory. The also have an app available in for iPhones and Androids which has been helpful to have with us wherever we are!

We write the verse out on a larger piece of paper and put it up next to the kitchen table. At each meal, we will recite and talk about the verse. I usually make up some kind of memory game to go with each verse. Drew’s favorite is when I just write the verse out on several pieces of paper and then he puts it together like a puzzle. It has been a good activity for all of us, but over the last few weeks, as we have faced the dreaded three: swim lessons, haircuts, and escalators, we have been able to put the verses into practice.

 

In God’s sovereignty, during the week of swim lessons our verse was “Fear not, for I am with you” (Isaiah 43:5a).We were able to repeat this verse over and over with Drew as we went throughout the week. He has also memorized “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on our own understanding” (Proverbs 3:5). As we have worked through these verses and learned Scripture, I have been encouraged to see three specific results of fruit from the Scripture memory.

1. Teaching for the Future

In 2 Timothy, we see the example of parents and grandparents who invest in their children by teaching the Word of God in the sincere faith of Timothy. Although the Scripture doesn’t give us exact detail, we know that Timothy’s grandmother, Lois, and his mother, Eunice, were believers. I can visualize them teaching Timothy the Scripture at a very young age, and then they were able to see the fruit of the teaching when he served with Paul.

As I see Drew recall these Scriptures from memory, it encourages me to preserve in not only our Scripture memory but also in our training with the hope of the day he begins his own personal relationship with Jesus. “Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it” (Proverbs 22:6).

2. Power of the Word to Calm

Unfortunately as Christians, we often forget the power that comes with reading and hearing the Word of God. As we speak these words of Scripture for ourselves and over our children, then we are able to see the truth of Hebrews 4:12: “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

3. Peace for the Parent

It is harder for me to get frustrated and upset with Drew in these situations, when we are speaking the Word of God out loud to each other! It was a great way for me to keep my emotions and frustrations in check. “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you” (Psalm 119:11).

What ways does your family incorporate Scripture verses into your daily life?

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki permalink
    September 14, 2012 9:20 am

    Love this! Going to start with the verse match up today! Thanks for sharing!

    • September 14, 2012 9:27 am

      Nikki, I’m sure you’ve got GREAT ideas to share, too! You are always doing something interesting and fun with the kids!

  2. Corrie permalink
    September 14, 2012 1:34 pm

    Great Idea, I need to do that for myself! And, I haven’t seen pictures of Drew since they moved…very cute!

  3. September 15, 2012 4:41 pm

    Very timely. We need something creative! And there is so much power in the Word — I’ve forgotten that. I just need to read it out loud to the kids and leave the rest to God.

Leave a Reply

