Skip to content

March On!

September 20, 2012
tags: , ,

I tried something new. Something I never thought I would do.

Zumba.

Yes, that aerobic exercise that combines Latin music with crazy, energetic, dance moves.

I am neither Latin nor an energetic dancer. In fact, I looked like a flailing pigeon. I was always a beat or two behind, my arms never went the right way, my hips screamed at me that they don’t move like that, and my face held a continuously confused look.

That was me. Get the picture?

But my sweet friend who dragged me met me at the class was so encouraging. “I can’t do this!” I whined.

“Just keep marching. You can do it, girl. Just march it out,” she said with a smile.

I wanted to drop-kick that smile right off her Zumba-loving face.

But I marched on. And I actually made it through class. (Surprisingly enough, they didn’t even ask me not to come back!)

Two days later, I attended a Beth More Simulcast. Boy, I got my groove on then! Maybe Travis Cottrell needs to teach a Christian worship Zumba class?

Okay, just kidding. (But not really.)

Anyway, he sang a song I had never heard before: “O My Soul, March On.” The lyrics were powerful:

O my soul, march on in victory

O rejoice, for I have been set free

No turning back, no turning back

I have been redeemed

O my soul, my soul march on in strength

I giggled to myself thinking of my uncoordinated attempts at Zumba. I did march on that night—and didn’t even quit! I didn’t let Zumba and all its hip-moving defeat me. I marched it out.

How many of us need to “march on” during everyday life? When the Enemy has trapped us, knocked us down, or gotten us off path?

God encourages us in His Word to keep marching: “O my soul, march on with strength” (Judges 5:21, ASV).

When you’re troubled, march on.

When you are fearful, march on.

When you are weak, march on.

When you are unsure, march on.

When you lack courage, march on.

When you doubt, march on.

And don’t just keep marching … march on in God’s strength!

It must have been God’s strength that night of Zumba that kept me marching on and not collapsing. And I know it is God’s strength each and every day that keeps me marching on.

How about you?

March on, friends, march on!

Photo Source (cc)

“O My Soul, March On” (2011 Universal Music, Written by Travis Cottrell, David Moffitt, and Jonathan Lee)

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2012 7:02 am

    Love this, Christi! You made me laugh AND tear up! March on! God’s got our back–and he won’t even laugh if we DO look like a flailing pigeon. At least we’re trying to get somewhere. THANK YOU!

    • September 20, 2012 3:53 pm

      Haha, thanks! I don’t know why “flailing pigeon” came to mind, but that’s exactly what I thought of as I was attempting those moves! 😉

  2. September 20, 2012 9:28 am

    Always happy to hear from you, my friend
    Marching on in the strength of God (even when I can’t keep up with the music)
    God Bless
    susie

    • September 20, 2012 3:54 pm

      Thanks, Susie! You hit the nail on the head–even when we can’t kep up with the music! (Which I often can’t!)

  3. September 20, 2012 10:42 am

    Great song! And it’s too funny how much our lives parallel…I just tried Zumba for the first time a few weeks ago. I was RIDICULOUS…but it was so much fun! What a workout…

    • September 20, 2012 3:54 pm

      Were we separated at birth or something? Too funny!! It was a lot of fun! That is the ONLY reason I’m going back. It’s definitely not because I looked super cool doing it!

  4. September 27, 2012 4:15 pm

    You have now motivated me to try and find a Zumba class! Marching it out is such an awesome way to go through life, especially when we know that God is standing by watching with a smile of approval! Love it!!

    • September 27, 2012 4:29 pm

      You will have to let me know how you like it!! I can’t keep up, but at least I’m moving! 🙂

Leave a Reply

