Skip to content

The Flip Side of Blessings

November 12, 2012

I’m one of those people.

You know … the kind who can’t accept a compliment.

If someone offers a “congratulations” or “I’m so proud of you” or “you did that so well,” then I look to the ground, bristle, wave the person off with my hand, and mutter, “Oh, it was nothing.”

I can’t help myself. It’s annoying; I look like a fool—an ungrateful fool—but I can’t help it. I’m trying to work on it. I’m learning to simply smile and say, “Thank you.”

Although I look silly refusing a compliment, I love to be the one to bless others. Usually, my blessings come in bountiful amounts of food—and not the low-fat, low-carb, low-in-calories kind. My mama’s chicken ‘n noodle recipe can bless the socks off anyone, whether they’ve had a baby, have suffered an illness, or experienced something worse. And the extra blessing is a homemade strawberry cake for dessert. I love cooking and baking for others, and since having kids, it’s also helped them see how we can bless other families.

But the flip side of being a blessing is that we should receive blessings, as well. That, I’m not so good at.

Recently, I gave in. I had a procedure done and several friends offered to bring our family food, pick up the kids from school, and babysit the kids while I recovered.

And guess what?

I said yes.

On the tip of my tongue was, “No, that’s okay. We’ll be fine.” But a still small voice said to me, Let others have the opportunity to be a blessing.

Okay, okay. So I said “Yes, I would appreciate that.”

And were we blessed? Mightily so. I couldn’t believe how we were blessed! Play dates for my kids, a dozen beautiful pink roses, several main entrees, lots of my favorite soup (tomato bisque), goodies for my kids (chocolate chip cookies), and even my favorite dessert (mint chocolate chip ice cream). We had bountiful blessings for days.

Although it is very important to bless others, I learned a big lesson by allowing others to bless me. Accepting a blessing allowed me to be …

  • Humbled
  • Grateful
  • Appreciative
  • Thankful

Being humbled, grateful, appreciative, and thankful were good for me to experience. If I hadn’t accepted the blessings of my friends, it would have blocked their opportunities to be a blessing. I don’t want to stand in the way of anyone willing to be a blessing!

God wants us to certainly be a blessing to others. But we must also receive blessings—His blessing of grace, mercy, forgiveness, and eternal life through His Son, Jesus Christ.

When we receive the blessings from God, we experience …

  • Humbleness
  • Gratefulness
  • Appreciativeness
  • Thankfulness

God freely gives His blessings, but we must receive His blessings.

Will you receive God’s blessings of grace, mercy, forgiveness,
and eternal life today?

“He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.” (Galatians 3:14, NIV)

Join me on Facebook and Twitter!

©2011- 2012 Christi McGuire. All Rights Reserved.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki permalink
    November 12, 2012 12:01 pm

    Love this Christi! What a reminder we all need. We don’t want to block what God has in store for others and ourselves.

  2. November 12, 2012 12:39 pm

    So, so, so, so true! The thing with authenticity is that it requires us to be honest and open about EVERYTHING – the good and the bad! I was told as a child “the only response to a compliment is to smile and say thank you.” and I’ve tried to be true to that ever since, but you’re right – it’s hard! The Inner You Stink tells us to argue!

Trackbacks

  1. Flawed and Fearless: Accepting Compliments « Adelle Gabrielson

Leave a Reply

